Finding Articles in Databases
How do I find journal articles on a music-related topic?
Use databases to find articles published in scholarly sources. In many instances, you can access the full text of the article right from the database. There are subject-specific databases as well as broad interdisciplinary databases. The following databases should be helpful when starting your research.
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 400 periodicals plus the full text for more than 125 journals. - RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles from 1967-present, with conference proceedings back to 1835. - Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles from 1665-1995. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations, and more.
Finding Journals
Where are the journals located?
Journals may be available either in paper copy or online. Paper copy journals have call numbers, just like books. Use the resources below to locate journals within the Library's collection.
- DELCAT DiscoveryTo locate a journal, search for the title of the journal in DELCAT Discovery. If the Library has the journal, DELCAT will tell you which years are owned and the location of the journal (the call number for the paper copies and the URL for the online version).
- Electronic JournalsThis is an easy way to determine whether a journal is available in an online version. From this page, you can browse by title, browse by subject, and search by keyword.
Music Periodicals - A History
How can I learn about music journals and their history?
Music Journals
What are some important music journals I should know about?