Created by the University of Minnesota, this research guide has links to lesson plans and additional information on how to bring Native American history into the classroom.
**Has specific Educator Resources!**
This site provides an extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics. These cultures have occupied, and in some cases still live in parts of Alaska, British Columbia, Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and Montana. Maps are available that show traditional territories or reservation boundaries.
This sub-collection presents United States government records that document debate and decisions related to Native American affairs. The collection currently includes Documents Relating to the Negotiation of Ratified and Unratified Treaties With Various Indian Tribes, 1801-1869 and the Office of Indian Affairs, Annual Report of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs.
The Indian-Pioneer Papers oral history collection spans from 1861 to 1936. It includes typescripts of interviews conducted during the 1930s by government workers with thousands of Oklahomans regarding the settlement of Oklahoma and Indian territories, as well as the condition and conduct of life there.
The Indian Peoples of the Northern Great Plains Collection includes photographs, paintings, ledger drawings, documents, serigraphs, and stereographs from 1874 through the 1940's. In 1998, the images were digitized and drawn from the library collections of three of the Montana State University campuses (Billings, Bozeman and Havre), the Museum of the Rockies in Bozeman, and Little Big Horn College in Crow Agency, Montana.
When the American public is presented with media accounts, public policy, and school curriculum concerning Indian people, the reaction may be curiosity, confusion, and even skepticism. How can we obtain a better understanding of such information? This site addresses this question by highlighting recent research of scholars who have provided new insights about the cultures and histories of Indian peoples in the Midwest. Academic research can show how modern-day issues have roots in regional history and culture and provide necessary background for understanding contemporary issues.
While treaties between Indigenous peoples and the United States affect virtually every area in the USA, there is as yet no official list of all the treaties. The US National Archives holds 374 of the treaties, where they are known as the Ratified Indian Treaties. Here you can view them for the first time with key historic works that provide context to the agreements made and the histories of our shared lands.
The Law Library of Congress collection contains a variety of American Indian legal materials. The Law Library holds most of the laws and constitutions from the early nineteenth century produced by the Cherokee, Choctaw, Chickasaw, Creek, and Seminole who were forced to leave the Southeast for the Indian Territory after passage of the Indian Removal Act in 1830. Some of these documents are in the vernacular languages of the tribes.
This website is an online learning tool designed to support Lenape language education through its expansive dictionary and language lessons. Its primary function is translating words, sentences, and phrases from English to Lenape or vice versa. Each Lenape item in the search results includes an audio clip of a speaker of Lenape saying the item. In addition to over 17,000 words in the dictionary, the site also includes stories, usage examples, photos, and historical examples. The Lenape Talking Dictionary is the ultimate resource for learning Lenape, the Native American language of the Delaware Tribe of Indians.
Edward Sheriff Curtis published The North American Indian between 1907 and 1930 with the intent to record traditional Indian cultures. The work comprises twenty volumes of narrative text and photogravure images. Each volume is accompanied by a portfolio of large photogravure plates.