From Off Campus
Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. If you encounter problems accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books, try using the UD proxy login page.
RefWorks
Databases
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from scholarly journals & other authoritative sources. Also includes thousands of podcasts & transcripts from NPR & CNN, as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. (Coverage: 1980 --) - GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports & conference proceedings devoted to womens & gender issues. (Coverage: mid-1970s --) - Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, & across all disciplines & subject areas. - CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reporting & analysis on “hot topics” in the news. Each single-themed report is researched & written by a seasoned journalist, footnoted & professionally fact checked. (Coverage: 1923 --)
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text information from news, business, & legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Though not required, you have the option to create a personal account that will give you access to special features such as alerts, saved searches, folders, history, annotations & more.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature of sociology & related disciplines in the social & behavioral sciences. (Coverage: 1952 --)
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly literature covering the history & culture of the U.S. & Canada, from prehistory to the present. - Gale OneFile: Business This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals, investment reports, directory listings & newswire releases, as well as indexing of national newspapers. - Education Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes & abstracts as well as some full-text education journals. Covers all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education. Also includes a collection of videos that provide practical online teacher training that addresses the evolving landscape of education.
- ERIC [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations & abstracts to articles in education journals & documents. Full-text available via GetIt! for UD Library subscribed titles. Also contains resources on training & development; library & information science. (Coverage: 1966 --) - Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations, with abstracts, for a broad range of social science disciplines, including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history & social work. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering world history (excluding the U.S. & Canada) from the 15th century to the present. Subjects include world history, military history, womens history, history of education & more. Indexes 2,300+ academic journals in over 40 languages. (Coverage: 1952 --) - ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowIndexes & abstracts the statistical content of selected U. S. & state government publications, business & association publications & intergovernmental publications. Abstracts may contain a link to the full- text of the table and/or a link to the agency's website where the full-text of the publication may be viewed & downloaded.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers public policy issues & emphasizes factual & statistical information. Print & electronic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration & legislation. Business topics are covered, with emphasis on economic factors, industry surveys, business-societal interactions & similar issues, rather than details of business operations. (Coverage: 1915 --) - APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations & abstracts of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science, mental health & related disciplines. (Coverage: 1806 --) - Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index & abstracts of published literature on social work, human services & related areas. (Coverage: 1980 --) - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature of sociology & related disciplines in the social & behavioral sciences. (Coverage: 1952 --) - Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bbliographic database for womens studies & feminist research. A valuable resource for many disciplines, including sociology, history, international relations, humanities.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals related to nursing & allied health sciences. Also contains evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, & a cited references search. (Coverage: 1937 --) - APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations & abstracts of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science, mental health & related disciplines. (Coverage: 1806 --) - PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A free resource providing access to biomedical & life sciences literature. Contains millions of citations & abstracts, but does not include full-text articles. However, links to the full-text are often present from other sources, such UD subscribed titles, publisher websites, or PubMed Central.
- Art Abstracts/Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracts & citations for hundreds of periodicals on art, art history & related disciplines. (Coverage: Abstracts, 1984 -- | Indexes, 1929-1984) - ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A resource for religious & theological studies. Provides bibliographic records for topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, & religion in social issues. (Coverage: 1949 --) - Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new window
Open Access. Art history bibliography, covering European & American art. Indexes & abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition & dealer catalogs, & articles from more than 1200 periodicals. (Coverage 1975-2007)
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations for articles, books, book chapters, & more. When available, includes links to full-text resources from the library & in open access publications. Covers a range of humanities subjects, including world languages & literatures, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric & writing, teaching of language, & history of publishing. (Coverage: 1926 --) - Philosophers Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. (Coverage: 1940 --)
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowThe world's most comprehensive curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations & theses from around the world, offering over 5 million citations and 3 million full-text works from thousands of universities.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles in English-language periodicals. Covers some of the best-known scholarly journals & numerous lesser-known, but important specialized magazines. Subjects include a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities & social sciences journals. (Coverage: 1907-1984) - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
- Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to the contents of journals & magazines in the humanities & social sciences, from their first issues through 1995, with links to the full-text of some articles. (Coverage: 1665-1995) - Readers Guide Index / Readers Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing & full-text of popular periodicals.
(Coverage: Readers Guide Index, 1983 -- | Readers Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982) - Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A citation & abstracting database covering thousands of active titles, primarily peer-reviewed journals. Also includes eBooks, major reference works & graduate level textbooks. Emphasis on social sciences, arts & humanities, but also includes science, technology & medicine. Includes thousands of Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, and patents. (Coverage: Primarily 1970-present. Some pre-1970 records going back to 1788) - Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that can be searched individually or in various combinations. WoS indexs the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, & humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, & workshops across the globe.
Primary Sources
Primary Sources are:
-
A first-hand account or testimony of the past, written during that present moment
-
Something that describes the reactions or thoughts of a particular time period
Primary Sources are vastly different across a variety of disciplines, but the basic definition of what a primary source is stays the same - a testimony or an account describing reactions or thoughts from a particular time. How these testimonies take shape is what changes across disciplines.
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new windowHistorical primary source publications relating to the history & study of sex, sexuality, gender research & gender studies research. (Coverage: 16th - 21st centuries)
- Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new window
Connects archival collections concerning womens history from across the globe & from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the 19th & 20th, the archive provides materials on womens political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, & socialism, & on womens voices, from female-authored literature to womens periodicals. (Coverage: 19th-20th century)
- Public Health Archives: Public Health in Modern America, 1890-1970 This link opens in a new windowExamines the history of public health & the policy debates that ensued in the delivery of services at the national, state & local levels during pivotal times in history. (Coverage: 1890-1970)
Selected Materials from UD Special Collections
This brief list of selected materials from UD's Special Collections demonstrate the wide range of primary sources available to researchers. This list includes examples of period "professional" literature, artists' books, literature, Delaware authors, personal narratives, broadsides and graphic collections.
-
Edward Field papers, 1943-1994Call Number: MSS 0363
-
A Finer Specimen of Womanhood by
Call Number: Special Collections HQ77.8.D38 A3x 1985ISBN: 9780533061785Publication Date: 1986-02-01 -
Florence Reynolds Collection related to Jane Heap and The Little ReviewCall Number: MSS 0258
-
This is an emergency! : a reproductive rights and gender justice portfolio. byCall Number: Special Collections FOLIO+ HQ766 .T48 2012Publication Date: 2012
-
Transvestism: ... men in female dress. byCall Number: Library Annex Special Collections HQ64 .C37 1956Publication Date: 1956
-
Walk the dark streets. byCall Number: Special Collections PS3539.H568 W35 1975Publication Date: 1975
-
Witt by
Call Number: Special Collections PS3569.M53787 W5 1973ISBN: 9780910664332Publication Date: 1973-01-01 -
Wrongly Bodied Two by
Call Number: Special Collections N7433.4 .S55 W76x 2004ISBN: 9781893125384Publication Date: 2004-01-01
International Collections