Sociology

Index of scholarly literature covering the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

Resources for researching the past, present, and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Comprised of several cross-searchable component databases.

Citations, with abstracts, for a broad range of social science disciplines, including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work.

Full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to womens and gender issues. (Coverage: mid-1970s --)

Content from international scholarly and popular periodicals in Black Studies and contains full-text coverage of core Black Studies titles. (Coverage:varies, some as far back as 1902; full text 1998 to the present))

Indexing for over 1,300 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full-text. Covers federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law. (Coverage: 1980 --)

Covers public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information. Print and electronic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration and legislation. Business topics are covered, with emphasis on economic factors, industry surveys, business-societal interactions and similar issues, rather than details of business operations. (Coverage: 1915 --)

Citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science, mental health and related disciplines. (Coverage: 1806 --)

Index and abstracts of published literature on social work, human services and related areas. (Coverage: 1980 --)

Bibliographic database for womens studies and feminist research. A valuable resource for many disciplines, including sociology, history, international relations, humanities.

A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN, as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. (Coverage: 1980 --)

Journals and magazine on a wide range of topics. Also includes reference, newspaper, and audio content such as the full text of New York Times articles from 1995 to the present, and audio files and transcripts of National Public Radio (NPR) programs from 1990 to the present. (Coverage: 1980 --)

Provides access to many millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Artstor images incorporated into JSTOR as of 8/1/2024.

A collection of databases that can be searched individually or in various combinations. WoS indexs the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, and workshops across the globe.

Indexing and full-text of popular periodicals. (Coverage: Readers Guide Index, 1983 --   |   Readers Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982)

Recent global news content, as well as archives. Content from newspapers, newswires and news sites in full-text format. Provides large collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America and Australia. (Coverage: 1980 --)

Full-text information from news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Though not required, you have the option to create a personal account that will give you access to special features such as alerts, saved searches, folders, history, annotations and more. 

Started in 1995 by providing access to materials from around the world, selected and translated into English by analysts from the U.S. Government’s domestic and overseas bureaus. Daily updates were sourced from newspapers, television and radio broadcasts, online sources, conference proceedings, periodicals, and non-classified reports, and provided timely coverage of the latest socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Ultimately WNC grew to include over 500 news sources from over 130 countries. (Coverage: 1995-2013)

Full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing access to often overlooked perspectives. Includes unique community publications not found in any other database, as well as top scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Nearly a quarter of the articles are presented in Spanish. Dozens of major Latino publications are featured, (Coverage: 1959 --)

Search tool for print and electronic titles from across the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. Government. CGP is a bibliography, not a document repository. The CGP only provides links to full-text resources that are the official, authoritative copy of an electronic resource. (Coverage: late 1800s - )

Image-based government document and legal research database. Extensive coverage of U.S. statutory materials, congressional documents and treaties. Also includes all of the world’s constitutions, collections of classic treatises, and presidential documents. Coverage of U.S. goverrnment publications is comprehensive back to inception, and all titles are exact replicas of the official print publication from the U.S. Government Publishing Office. A large assortment of international resources are also available.

Comprehensive access to United States legislative information. 

Indexes and abstracts the statistical content of selected U. S. and state government publications, business and association publications and intergovernmental publications. Abstracts may contain a link to the full- text of the table and/or a link to the agency's website where the full-text of the publication may be viewed and downloaded.