Primary Sources in The Arts in Special Collections

The University of Delaware Library's collection encompasses all periods and styles of fine arts and is particularly strong in works on painting technique and instruction. 

Homer. The Odyssey of Homer, translated by George Herbert Palmer, with illustrations by N. C. Wyeth. Cambridge: Houghton Mifflin Company, 1929.

Listed here are bibliographies of resources in Special Collections pertaining to art and art history. Please note that the items listed in the bibliographies represent only a small portion of materials on art, artists, movements, and artistic techniques held in Special Collections.

Art

Art History

Art Conservation

Images

Primary Sources

In addition to manuscript and archival collections, Special Collections also holds a variety of visual materials, including photographs, etchings, artwork, and graphical ephemera such as book jackets and posters, as well as other related materials such as cartes-de-visite.

Prints, Photographs and Images (PPI Collection)

Graphics collections (GRA Collection)

The Mark Samuels Lasner Collection  focuses on British literature and art of the period 1850 to 1900, with an emphasis on the Pre-Raphaelites and on the writers and illustrators of the 1890s. Its holdings comprise 7,000 first and other editions (including many signed and association copies), manuscripts, letters, works on paper, and ephemera.

Please note that materials in the Mark Samuels Lasner Collection are not listed in DELCAT.