Research Guides: Theatre: Databases and eJournals

Databases for Theatre Research

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is a database of more than 8,000 journals. It covers a wide variety of subject areas, including theatre. Most of the articles are available in full text. Content includes hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN and the CBC, as well as full-text New York Times articles from 1995 to the present.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An essential bibliography of English language and literature. Subjects covered: English language, English literature, bibliography and traditional culture of the English-speaking world. Coverage is international and includes articles in languages other than English. (Coverage: 1920 --)
4 concurrent users allowed.
Part of the Literature Online database.
Art Abstracts/Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art Abstracts (1984 to the present) and Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) provide citations and abstracts to articles in periodicals, yearbooks and museum bulletins.
Subjects include art history and criticism, architecture and architectural history, archaeology, antiques, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, interior design, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, decorative arts, costume design, television and video, motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles, and related fields.
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, an extensive E-Book collection, a large image bank, extra reference resources, and more.
Students and scholars in disciplines as diverse as anthropology, art history, history, sociology, geography, folklore, museum studies, theatre, and cultural studies as well as fashion and textiles will find insights into people and cultures all over the world.
Black Drama (2nd edition) This link opens in a new window
Full text of 1,462 plays written by 233 playwrights from North America, Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Eighteenth Century Drama: Censorship, Society and the Stage This link opens in a new window
A unique archive of almost every play submitted for license between 1737 and 1824, and hundreds of documents that provide social context for the plays, including The London Stage, 1660-1800.
The plays and social documents in this resource provide a view of every aspect of 18th c. theatre culture and wider society in England. Includes a unique archive of almost every play submitted for license between 1737 and 1824, and hundreds of documents that provide social context for the plays. (Coverage: 1737-1824)
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a search engine for scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations and technical reports.
Google Scholar is only one of many ways to identify and access scholarly publications. Consult the Databases page or the Electronic Journalspage for other possibilities.
Literature Online Complete This link opens in a new window
Works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, as well as biographies, bibliographies and key secondary sources. Primary works represent a collection of thousands of works by influential authors as well as the works of lesser known or now forgotten literary figures. (Coverage: 8th century --)
Literature Online Complete provides access to:

English poetry from 600 to the present
American and African-American poetry from 1603 to the present
The Faber Poetry Library
English drama (including Shakespeare) from 1280 to 1915
English prose from 1500 to 1900

Includes access to the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) with associated full-text, major literary reference works, and websites selected for their relevance to literary studies.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find literary interpretation and analysis of particular plays or works by particular playwrights.
Can be searched in conjunction with the MLA Directory of Periodicals, which contains all information available on journals and series on the Bibliographys Master List. The Directory of Periodicals is included in the Bibliography.

eJournals

Theatre Topics
The first theatre publication devoted to issues of concern to practitioners, focused on performance studies, dramaturgy, and theatre pedagogy.

Theatre E-Journals
Most titles can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. You may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. If the Library does not have the issue you need in electronic format, you may request the item via Article DELivery Service.

Contemporary Theatre Review

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated list of open access journals and aims to be the starting point for all information searches for quality, peer reviewed open access material.