Skip to Main Content
University of Delaware Library
Enter Search Words
Books and eBooks
Databases and eJournals
Film and Video
Pulitzer Prize for Drama
For a distinguished play by an American author, preferably original in its source and dealing with American life.
The Antoinette Perry Award for Excellence in Broadway Theatre, more commonly known as the Tony Award, recognizes excellence in live Broadway theatre.
The awards are presented by the American Theatre Wing and The Broadway League. The Tony is considered to be the most prestigious of awards in the world of theatre.
Village Voice Obie Awards
The Obie Awards honor the highest calibre of off-Broadway and off-off Broadway theatre to recognize brave work, champion new material, and advance careers in theatre.
The official webpage for the Village Voice Obie Awards.
The Drama League Awards
Created in 1922, these awards honor distinguished productions and performances as well as exemplary career achievements in theatre, musical theatre, and directing.
Mission: The Drama League advances the American theater by providing a life-long artistic home for directors and a platform for dialogue with, and between, audiences.
Resources for Scholarship
Digital Collections: Performing Arts (Library of Congress)
Digital performing arts collections include The Ballets Russes, The Variety Stage, The Federal Theatre Project, and more.
Global Performing Arts Database (GloPAD)
Authoritative, detailed, multilingual descriptions of digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects related to the performing arts around the world.
Internet Broadway Database (IBDB)
Comprehensive listings of shows, actors, directors, and playwrights from the beginning of New York theatre to today.
NYPL Digital Collections: Treasures of the American Performing Arts 1875-1923
Visual and audio files from the library's extensive archival collections.
NYPL Digital Collections: Acclaimed Theatrical Photographers
Archival photographs by acclaimed theatrical photographers digitized and available from NYPL's vast archival collections.
NYPL Digital Collections: Billy Rose Theatre Division
The Billy Rose Theatre Division of The New York Public Library is one of the largest and most comprehensive archives devoted to the theatrical arts.
Encompassing dramatic performance in all its diversity, the division is an indispensable resource for artists, writers, researchers, scholars, students, and the general public.
Resources for Actors & Directors
Dramatists Play Service, Inc.
Publish and license the works of new and established playwrights.
Samuel French, Inc.
Play publishers and authors' representatives. Founded in 1830.
Access to free, royalty-free contemporary monologues for audition and competition.
StageAgent.com offers character descriptions from musicals and plays, monologue and song databases and audition listings.
UD Theatre Ensembles and Delaware Theatre Companies
Harrington Theatre Arts Company
The Harrington Theatre Arts Company (HTAC) provides an extracurricular outlet for students interested in the theatre arts.
Resident Ensemble Players (REP)
Resident Ensemble Players (REP) is a professional theatre located at the University of Delaware.
UD Opera Theatre
UD Opera Theatre is the resident, student opera company of the University of Delaware's Department of Music.
Delaware Theatre Company
Wilmington, Delaware-based professional theatre company founded in 1979. This company creates new shows for Broadway and maintains community-based outreach programs.
Delaware Theatre & Performance Venues
List of venues for theatre, musicals, and other productions compiled by the Delaware Tourism Office.
YouTube Channels by Theatre Companies
American Theatre Wing on YouTube
Features Master Classes, ATW's Working in Theatre documentary series, Careers Guides, and more.
National Theatre YouTube
Features various behind the scenes series such as How We Made It, National Theatre: Life in Stages, In Search of Greek Theatre, Exploring the Black Plays Archive, and How To video series.
Film and Video
Feb 2, 2024 3:20 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem