Research Guides: BMEG360: Engineering Junior and Senior Design: Standards Aggregator Databases

Databases for Identifying Standards (freely searchable)

This section provides links to databases that are tools for searching standards from a variety of organizations. Select information, such as a summary of a standard and document history, can be viewed freely. However, individuals typically must purchase full-text access to standards from these databases. The aggregators often sell access to a premium search interface with more capabilities than their freely accessible tools.

Step 1: Use the following free resources (listed below) to identify standards of interest:

Tip to improve your results:

Consider synonyms - e.g. "life jacket" could be referred to as a "life preserver" or "personal flotation device"
Focus your search by first identifying a Standards Issuing Body that is likely to create standards for your area of interest (e.g. Search for ASTM standards if you are looking for "testing" standards, search SAE standards if your topic has automotive or aerospace applications, etc).
Use parentheses to search key terms as a phrase, rather than independent keywords (e.g. "life preserver" instead of life preserver)

Step 2: Use the resources in the "Searching for a Specific Standard" menu to search for the full text of your standard(s)

ANSI Webstore
The ANSI Webstore offers access to over 60,000 U.S. and international standards (both ANSI approved standards and others not designated as American National Standards). Standards can be searched by keywords or document number and browsed by publisher or standards package. As part of the search function, there is a "News" tab to explore standards related news. ANSI offers ANSI Standards Connect ET, a subscription platform for searching and accessing standards.
Techstreet
The Techstreet database carries over 500,000 global publications. Standards can be searched by document number, keywords, or publisher. Through "Shop by Publisher," standards can be browsed by topics, and the publisher's most recent and popular publications. Users can register for an account to access a free tracking service that sends updates on standards selected for alerts. Techstreet makes these SDO available:
AASHTO
ACI (ACI 318, others available upon request)
AHAM
ANS
ASHRAE
ASME (including BPVC)
BSI (selected)
ICC
ISO (selected)
NFPA (Fire)
Document Center
Document Center carries global industry and government standards from hundreds of standards bodies. Standards can be searched by title, keywords, or document number. Standards can also be located by subject, industry sector, and ASTM Volume. This platform is widely used in the medical device industry. Document Center offers Standards Online Document Center, a subscription database for searching and accessing standards.
iTeh Standards Store
iTeh Inc is a software development and IT consulting team. In cooperation, with the Slovenian Institute of Standardization (SIST), Standards from: ISO (selected), IEC (selected), CEN, CENELEC, ETSI, AND SIST.
IHS Markit Standards Store
S&P Global is the industry's most comprehensive source of hardcopy and PDF technical industry standards and government and military standards. More than 60,000 customers in 120 countries rely on S&P Global to fill their need for standards and specifications from more than 460 technical societies around the world.

Step 3: Requesting a Specific Standard:

Provide your instructor with the complete ISO or IEC designation for the standard(s) and your course instructor will contact the ANSI administrator and request online access to the standard(s) for you. Allow at least two business days for your request to be processed by ANSI.

NOTE: If the standard you are requesting is jointly published by ISO and ASTM International (for example, ISO/ASTM 52915:) the standard should be available from ASTM Compass.