Related Guides
Contact Film & Video
Meghann Matwichuk
Contact:
Librarian, Film & Video Collection
(302) 831-1475
(302) 831-1475
Subjects: Education & Human Development, Film Studies
Media
- Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window
Current and historical Associated Press photographs, graphics, and text materials.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to many millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Artstor images incorporated into JSTOR as of 8/1/2024.
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsFreely available digitized materials from the Library of Congress, including the collections formerly called American Memory. Change the area that you are searching under to the Prints & Photographs Division.
- Getty ImagesExtensive archive of images both historical and contemporary. BE CAREFUL: If you will be using images in a publication of any sort, check the copyright beforehand!
- National Archives and Records AdministrationAlthough NARA does not have many of their collections digitized, they have worked to make some available online. Anyone is welcome to conduct research at a NARA location. If you are interested in conducting in-person research, click on their "Research our Records" tab at the top left of the page. You can limit on the left-hand side for "Photographs and other Graphic Material."
- Explore Chicago CollectionsA portal to digital images and archival collections in Chicago-area libraries and museums.
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Has footage of historic speeches, events, and more! - American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos related to American history, including commercial and governmental newsreels, archival and public affairs footage, and documentaries. Includes content from Newsreel Films, Documentary Educational Resources, PBS, The History Channel, NASA, NARA, and Universal Newsreel. Covers the discovery of the Americas to the late 20th century.
- Docuseek Complete Collection (Alexander Street Press platform) This link opens in a new window
Access to contemporary social issues documentaries in a variety of disciplines.
NOTE: The Library provides access to the most current (3rd ed.) of the Docuseek Collection through the Docuseek platform ONLY. Accessing via Alexander St. Press provides access through the 2nd edition. - Docuseek Complete Collection (Docuseek platform) This link opens in a new windowThe Docuseek Complete Collection provides access to contemporary social issues documentaries in a variety of disciplines, including environmental sciences, political and social sciences, history, health, psychology, and more. In addition to Women Make Movies, the collection includes films from other high-quality distributors such as Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films, Kartemquin Films, and the National Film Board of Canada.
- Media Education Foundation Digital Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides streaming documentary films about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media, especially in relation to gender, race, class, health, and consumerism.
- Motion Pictures in the Library of Congress (Motion Picture and Television Reading Room, Library of Congress)All copyrighted United States films from 1942 on are, in theory, on deposit in the LoC, with seven to eight thousand added each year. The collection also contains many films made before 1942 and many foreign films.
- American Experience (PBS)Browse the American Experience series by topic. Watch full films online, view supplemental articles, and learn behind the scenes information from the programs' creators.
- Recorded Sound Research CenterHistorical sound recordings from the Library of Congress ranging from speeches, to jazz music, folk life collections, and much more.
- Radio Days: A Radio HistoryThis is a unique web resource for users interested in capturing early sound bites from radio shows in the 1940s through the 1960s. It is dubbed as a source “for the history of nostalgic and old time radio series and news.”
- Cylinder Preservation and Digitization ProjectA digital collection of over 6,000 cylinder recordings. They can be freely downloaded or streamed online.
- Unlocking Historical Audio CollectionsA collaborative grant project of historical sound recordings from Yale, New York Public Library, Stanford, and Syracuse.