Finding Books/E-Books
Basic Search Tips
- Place quotation marks around keyword phrases
- "trench warfare"
- "Iranian Coup"
- Capitalize Boolean logic connectors (AND, OR)
- narrative OR plot
- "American Involvement" AND World War I
- Items at UD appear first in the list of search results. Other items can be requested via InterLibrary Loan.
- Visit our DELCAT Research Guide for additional tips!
There are some e-book collections that can be found under the "Primary Sources" tab. In most cases, those books would be considered primary sources, which is why they reside there instead of on the secondary source page.
- ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection This link opens in a new windowACLS Humanities E-Book HEB is an online, fully searchable collection of more than 5,400 books of high quality in the humanities and humanistic social sciences. Frequently cited in the literature, these titles are recommended by scholars and the learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies.
- EBSCO eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA collection of published ebooks consisting of a broad range of reference and scholarly books.
- Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs This link opens in a new windowThe Gerritsen Collection includes two million page images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works. You can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country’s movement on those of the others. In many cases, it also provides easy access to primary sources otherwise available only in a few rare book rooms.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowA shared repository of digitized content from some of the largest research libraries in the United States. Log in with your UDelNet ID and password to download entire books.
- Internet Archive This link opens in a new windowMillions of freely downloadable books and texts as well as 550,000 modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.
- JSTOR eBooks This link opens in a new windowBooks at JSTOR are incorporated into the JSTOR digital library of more than 2,000 journals and more than 25,000 books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The books range in date from late-19th century through 2014.
- Making of America This link opens in a new windowA collaborative project of Cornell University and the University of Michigan, with funding from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, MOA is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The Cornell collection comprises 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The Michigan collection contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles. Both collections are made up of images of the pages in the books and journals.
-
Electronic Book Collections
by Marie Seymour-Green Last Updated Apr 11, 2024 83 views this year
-
EBSCO eBooks: Downloading, Printing, and Copying
by Marie Seymour-Green Last Updated May 30, 2023 22 views this year