Film & Video Librarian
Media & Copyright
The following links provide general information regarding copyright and intellectual property, as well as information specific to media.
Media in Online Classes
If you are an instructor who is interested in incorporating streaming media into your online courses, please explore the documentaries and programs available within the databases found on this page. The majority of these films are available by searching DELCAT using the 'Streaming Videos' Resource Type limiter as well. Several of these databases provide features that are helpful in online courses, such as the ability to share videos via Course Management Systems, create custom playlists, and utilize clip-making tools.
The following resource may be useful as well:
Guides Related to Media
International Access
International students who are having difficulties accessing Library-provided materials (including media) may try using the University of Delaware's full tunnel VPN (Virtual Private Network). UD IT provides information on full tunnel VPN.
Streaming Media Meta-Search
- Just WatchThis freely-available site indexes consumer-based streaming media platforms (such as Netflix, Hulu, iTunes, etc.), allowing users to search where films and television series may be available via digital rental or subscription.
Ask the Library
Media Resources
 |
|
If you are seeking information about the Library's Film & Video Collection, such as how to access the physical collection or for information about media scheduling, please visit the Film & Video Collection webpage. The Media Research Guide is a guide to media content available online, and does not include information about video and gaming content available in physical format to Library patrons on Blu-ray, DVD, VHS, film, game disc or cartridge, etc. You may search for both Library-licensed eVideos and physical media content via DELCAT. Below is information about subscription media databases available to current UD students, staff and faculty. These require UD user authentication. Please note: many of the resources in these databases are also accessible via DELCAT. When using these links, you may be prompted for your UDel NetID and password. If you encounter problems accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books, please visit the How to Connect to the University of Delaware Library page or use the Ask the Library service for assistance. If you are an instructor seeking information about incorporating streaming media into a course, please use the Email Me button in the box to your left for assistance. |
Using Media for Courses
Please note:
- Streaming media is best used for flipped education scenarios and individual, asynchronous viewing. Streaming titles should be checked to verify availability prior to syllabus finalization, especially if the syllabus was created during a prior semester. (Licensing terms for most streaming media is only available on a temporary basis. Expiration dates are included in DELCAT when applicable.)
- Use of longform streaming media for in-person classroom screenings is generally not recommended. Network issues and other technological variables can lead to inconsistent playback, and resizing the image to fit a large screen can cause image degradation. Please test for quality prior to in-person classroom screenings.
- Physical media is generally the most reliable option for classroom screenings, provided playback equipment is available. You may make prior arrangements to schedule media for future use. University Media Services can provide support re: playback equipment in classrooms.
- The Library's DVD / Blu-ray / eVideo etc. collection is searchable via DELCAT. You can search for physical media and Library-licensed streaming media via the Film & Video Collection homepage.
- If you are an instructor seeking more information about incorporating streaming media into a course, please contact the Film & Video Collection Librarian for assistance.
- If the Library does not own the film you wish to screen, please contact the Film & Video Collection Librarian, who will research its availability. Allowing as much time as possible for this process increases the likelihood of success.
Media Database: Alexander Street Press
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of more than 85,000 videos spanning numerous subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more.
For more information on specific collections available within Academic Video Online, please visit the AVON page.
Media Database: Swank Digital Campus
- Swank Digital CampusA collection of 1000+ classic and current feature films.
Please note: Films provided by Swank are not viewable with the Safari browser. If you have problems viewing these films, please update your (non-Safari) browser. If you continue to have problems, please contact the Film & Video Librarian via the 'Email Me' button on this page.
Media Database: Kanopy Collection
- Kanopy CollectionVideos readily viewable via the Kanopy link have been requested by instructors for course support. If you are an instructor and plan to teach with a title found on Kanopy but which is not viewable, please contact the Film & Video Collection Librarian via the Email Me button in the left-hand column of this page. Kanopy titles are licensed for 1- or 3-year increments, and occasionally in perpetuity. To see if and when licenses are set to expire for eVideo content, you may search DELCAT for the title and check the 'View Online' section of the record.
Media Database: Docuseek Complete Collection (Docuseek platform)
- Docuseek Complete Collection (Docuseek platform) This link opens in a new windowDocuseek provides access to contemporary social issues documentaries and films in a variety of disciplines, including environmental sciences, political and social sciences, history, health, psychology, and more. The collection includes films from high-quality distributors such as Women Make Movies, Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films, Kartemquin Films, GOOD DOCS and the National Film Board of Canada.
The Library provides access to the most current (3rd edition) of the Docuseek Complete Collection.
The following collections are a part of Docuseek: Collective Eye Films Collection, GOOD DOCS Complete Collection and Icarus Films Fiction Collection.
Media Database: JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments)
- JoVE Science Education This link opens in a new windowThis video collection is designed to better teach and learn key concepts and fundamental techniques in a wide range of STEM subjects including Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Psychology, Clinical Medicine and Engineering.
- JoVE Video Journal This link opens in a new windowThis database is a peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video methods journal. Articles consist of high-quality video demonstrations and detailed text protocols in the physical and life sciences. The scope of the journal includes novel techniques, innovative applications of existing techniques, and gold standard protocols in the physical and life sciences.
Media Database: Media Education Foundation
- Media Education Foundation Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Documentary films related to gender, race, class, health, and consumerism.
Media Database: SAGE Research Methods
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new windowThis database features a video component that covers aspects of research skills training in the social sciences and guides students through steps of the research process. It contains 480+ titles, 120+ hours of content and includes a 15-hour introductory statistics course.
Media Database: BBC Shakespeare Plays
- BBC Shakespeare Plays This link opens in a new window
This streaming video collection consists of television adaptations of all 37 plays by William Shakespeare, produced by British Broadcasting between 1978 and 1985.
Media Database: Videatives
- Videatives This link opens in a new windowThis collection of short video clips demonstrates scenarios in child development and education. Each video is accompanied by supporting, explanatory text. Videos can be browsed by subject and age of child.
Media Databases: Nursing and Mental Health in Video / Nursing Education in Video
- Nursing and Mental Health in Video This link opens in a new windowFeatures 240+ short videos of common mental health disorders nurses may encounter with a goal towards preparing to assess, diagnose, and manage mental health issues in patients.
- Nursing Education in Video This link opens in a new windowProvides access to 300+ full-length demonstration and training videos designed to help students improve their clinical skills.
HistoryMakers
- HistoryMakers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of full-text and video interviews with African-Americans distinguished in the fields of science, culture, politics, the arts, and public life.
Socialism on Film
- Socialism on Film : The Cold War and International Propaganda This link opens in a new window
Collection of films that documents the communist world, from the Russian Revolution to the end of the Cold War. Reveals all aspects of life behind the Iron Curtain, as seen by filmmakers from the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europ, the GDR, Britain, and Cuba. (Coverage: early 20th c. - 1980s)