Selected databases
Databases organize, or index, information on many journals and the articles published within those journals. Databases can be the most efficient way to search for research on a topic.
- AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, agricultural engineering and technology and earth and environmental sciences. - CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of research on agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine, and much more. Journals, monographs, conference reports, books, annual reports, and other sources from more than 100 countries are scanned. - AGRIS This link opens in a new window
Open Access. A global, multilingual, public domain database with millions of bibliographic records on agricultural science and technology. Includes links to full-text when available.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to clinical, biomedical and health care research literature, including topics in veterinary medicine. (Developed by National Library of Medicine)
Multidisciplinary databases cover numerous subjects, including animal and food sciences and related fields.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that can be searched individually or in various combinations. WoS indexs the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, and workshops across the globe.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A citation and abstracting database covering thousands of active titles, primarily peer-reviewed journals. Also includes eBooks, major reference works and graduate level textbooks. Emphasis on social sciences, arts and humanities, but also includes science, technology and medicine. Includes thousands of Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, and patents. (Coverage: Primarily 1970-present. Some pre-1970 records going back to 1788)
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN, as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. (Coverage: 1980 --)
- Biological and Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, indexing and abstracts from essential biology and agricultural research journals. Useful for those studying the agricultural industry, veterinary science, wildlife management, and environmental science.
- Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Iincludes the Biological Sciences, MEDLINE and TOXLINE databases. Provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection. (Coverage: 1946 --)
- Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world’s oldest continuing database of animal biology. Considered the world’s leading taxonomic reference and has long acted as the world’s unofficial register of scientific animal names. The broad scope of coverage ranges from biodiversity and the environment to taxonomy and veterinary sciences. (Coverage: 1864 --)