Selected resources
Databases are excellent resources when researching a topic. PubMed and Zoological Abstracts have more of a subject focus than Web of Science and Scopus which are multidisciplinary with a broad coverage of the literature. If you just need a few articles on a topic, Google Scholar is a good starting point.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowFree resource of citations to clinical, biomedical and health care research literature, including topics in veterinary medicine. (Developed by National Library of Medicine). Note: does not include full text articles, but links are often present from other sources
- Zoological Record This link opens in a new windowThe world’s oldest continuing database of animal biology. Considered the world’s leading taxonomic reference and has long acted as the world’s unofficial register of scientific animal names. The broad scope of coverage ranges from biodiversity and the environment to taxonomy and veterinary sciences. (Coverage: 1864 --)
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A reference and citation index comprised of several databases that can be searched as a whole or individually. Provides access to data from scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia. workshops, and conventions across the world. To search in a subset rather than all components at once, select a database and then select the desired index or indices in the “Editions” dropdown menu.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowA citation and abstracting database covering thousands of active titles, primarily peer-reviewed journals. Also includes eBooks, major reference works and graduate level textbooks. Emphasis on social sciences, arts and humanities, but also includes science, technology and medicine. Includes thousands of Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, and patents.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearch engine specifically for scholarly publications. You can access the full-text of articles from open access and preprint publications, but you must be logged in to your UDel email account in order to access subscriptions provided by the UD Library.
Search DELCAT for books
Type your keywords in the search bar on the library home page or use Advanced Search interface for more options (limit search to specific fields - Subject, Title, Author, etc.). Use the Books filters under Resource Type
Basic search: livestock diseases
Advanced search: Subject contains exact phrase veterinary medicine
- Black's Veterinary Dictionary - Credo ReferenceA primary reference on animal health and husbandry matters. The 22nd edition has been comprehensively revised and expanded; it covers the widest spectrum of veterinary data available in a single volume.
- Merck Veterinary ManualThis online version of Merck Veterinary Manual (MVM) provides concise and authoritative information on diseases and management of food-producing, companion, laboratory, and exotic animals.
eJournals
Browse through an alphabetical listing of e-journals by the subject area indicated, or do a search in DELCAT. If the Library does not have access to an article, use Interlibrary Loan to request a PDF copy (free of charge).