The American Society of Animal Science fosters the discovery, sharing and application of scientific knowledge concerning the care and responsible use of animals to enhance animal and human health and well-being.
As the mission statement articulates: FASS strengthens the common interests and collective good of member societies through a unified science-based voice that supports animal agriculture, animal products, and food systems globally through effective and efficient management services.
A forum for passionate science of food professionals and technologists to collaborate, learn, and contribute all with the goal of inspiring and transforming collective scientific knowledge into innovative solutions for the benefit of all people around the world.
IFT Scientific Journals provide the latest, peer reviewed, novel research and reviews from experts around the globe. Journal of Food Science, Comprehensive Reviews in Food Science and Food Safety, Journal of Food Science Education
Publications: Journal of Food Protection includes refereed scientific research and authoritative review articles on a variety of food safety and protection topics. Food Protection Trends, the general Membership publication, contains refereed articles on applied research, applications of current technology and general interest subjects for food safety professionals.
Basic information, membership services, meeting announcements and a “Student Center” are included in this comprehensive page produced by the principle organization of the animal science discipline. A publications section includes tables of contents of the Journal of Animal Science and listings of other publications available to order.
Online version of the well-known reference work. Full table of contents is in left frame, with each section expandable to specific topics. Top tabs can also be used for general navigation, including indexes and guides to use. Covers 12,000 indexed items.
Simple and selective list of veterinary resources on the Internet, from basic sites and journal home pages to materials from courses taught in universities in the US, Canada, and Europe. Lists are broken out from broad groupings: journals, bioscience and genetics, clinical sciences, animal sciences, and veterinary science subdisciplines. From Jim Martindale, as a division of Martindale’s Reference Desk.
Interesting page of resources, including a list of resources such as articles, computer programs, indexes, newsgroups, conferences, and directories of virologists. Under a “Images and Animations Database” section, there are links to computer visualizations and virus structure tutorials. Additional sections are provided on virology meetings and links to other major virology sites.
The national equine resource team known as eXtension Horses began collaborative work to harness the Cooperative Extension System’s best information to provide traditional and expanding clientele a source of reliable and up-to-date horse information on equine science and management.
The Institute of Food Technologists is “the premier scientific and educational society serving the food science and technology field.” The site provides links to several publications, a listing of meetings and expositions, continuing education programs, and employment information, as well as a listing of regional sections and subject divisions. Also included is “WorldFood Net,” a suppliers and buyers directory.
Established in 2001 to support the research community by collecting, organizing, and disseminating food safety information, the mission of FSRIO is to provide the research community and the general public with information on publicly funded, and to the maximum extent practicable, privately funded food safety research initiatives.