Databases for Anthropology and Archaeology
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage: late 19th-century to the present. - AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowIncludes current issues for 15 of the American Anthropological Association’s most critical peer-reviewed publications,
- Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAATA Online is a comprehensive database of over 130,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage—broadly interpreted to include works of art, cultural objects, museum collections, archives and library materials, architecture, historic sites, and archaeology.
Archaeology, Anthropology, History
- Art Abstracts/Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracts and citations for hundreds of periodicals on art, art history and related disciplines. (Coverage: Abstracts, 1984 --, Indexes, 1929-1984)
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles on architecture and design, covering subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design. (Coverage: 1741 --)
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly literature covering the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from the 15th century to the present. Subjects include world history, military history, womens history, history of education and more. Indexes 2,300+ academic journals in over 40 languages. (Coverage: 1952 --)
Retrospective Indexes
- Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to the contents of journals and magazines in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues through 1995, with links to the full-text of some articles. (Coverage: 1665-1995)
- C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to 19th c. books, periodicals, official publications, archives, and newspapers. (Coverage: 19th c.)
- Eight Centuries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source material in the humanities, social sciences, engineering, history of science, law, economics, religion, psychology, government documents, visual arts, music, and the physical sciences. Detailed information about Eight Centuries Content is available. (Coverage: 1106-1960, varies by source)
- Readers Guide Index / Readers Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full-text of popular periodicals. (Coverage: Readers Guide Index, 1983 -- | Readers Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982)
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles in English-language periodicals. Covers some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known, but important specialized magazines. Subjects include a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. (Coverage: 1907-1984)
Multidisciplinary Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to many millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Artstor images incorporated into JSTOR as of 8/1/2024.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that can be searched individually or in various combinations. WoS indexs the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, and workshops across the globe.