Key Databases
- Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A freely available database containing abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage - broadly interpreted to include works of art, cultural objects, museum collections, archives and library materials, architecture, historic sites, and archaeology.
- Bibliographic Database of the Conservation Information Network This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic resource for the conservation, preservation, and restoration of cultural property.
- Art Abstracts/Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracts and citations for hundreds of periodicals on art, art history and related disciplines. (Coverage: Abstracts, 1984 --, Indexes, 1929-1984)
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles on architecture and design, covering subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design. (Coverage: 1741 --)
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Compilation of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature databases. An extensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. (Coverage: late 19th c. --)
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly literature covering the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from the 15th century to the present. Subjects include world history, military history, womens history, history of education and more. Indexes 2,300+ academic journals in over 40 languages. (Coverage: 1952 --)
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Partial Open Access. Search engine specifically for scholarly publications. You can access the full-text of articles from open access and preprint publications, but you must be logged in to your UDel email account in order to access subscriptions provided by the UD Library.
- International Medieval Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa in the period 400-1500 (Coverage: 1967 --)
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. The platform contains databases, books, journals, and more. (Coverage: 1842 --) See below for more information about the resources included in Iter.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
To use SciFinder, you must register and provide your UD email.
Comprehensive database for chemical literature, indexing journal articles and patent records, and chemical substances and reactions. You can search by topic, author, and substances by name or CAS Registry Number, or use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions. - Materials Science and Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that can be searched individually or in various combinations. WoS indexs the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, and workshops across the globe.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A citation and abstracting database covering thousands of active titles, primarily peer-reviewed journals. Also includes eBooks, major reference works and graduate level textbooks. Emphasis on social sciences, arts and humanities, but also includes science, technology and medicine. Includes thousands of Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, and patents. (Coverage: Primarily 1970-present. Some pre-1970 records going back to 1788)
- ChemSpider This link opens in a new window
A freely available chemical structure database providing fast access to over a million structures, properties, and associated information.
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology This link opens in a new window
A wide scope of articles on chemical substances, chemical technology, and related fields. Environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also covered.
- Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry This link opens in a new window
The benchmark reference in chemistry and chemical and life-science engineering, offering complete coverage of the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. New and updated articles are added every 2 months.
- SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new window
Curated data and advanced functionalities to support research in materials science, physics, chemistry, engineering, and other related fields.
- Science of Synthesis This link opens in a new window
Provides a critical review of the synthetic methodology developed field of organic and organometallic chemistry. (Coverage: early 1800s --)
- CompTox Chemicals Dashboard | EPAThe Dashboard contains chemistry, toxicity and exposure information for over one million chemicals, with over 300 chemical lists based on structure or category. Webpage provides links to the Dashboard and to its Resource Hub.
- TOXNET has moved!As part of a broader NLM reorganization, most of NLM's toxicology information services have been integrated into other NLM products and services.
- TOXLINE (via ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens.
- Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to the contents of journals and magazines in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues through 1995, with links to the full-text of some articles. (Coverage: 1665-1995)
- C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to 19th c. books, periodicals, official publications, archives, and newspapers. (Coverage: 19th c.)
- Eight Centuries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary source material in the humanities, social sciences, engineering, history of science, law, economics, religion, psychology, government documents, visual arts, music, and the physical sciences. Detailed information about Eight Centuries Content is available. (Coverage: 1106-1960, varies by source)
- Readers Guide Index / Readers Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full-text of popular periodicals. (Coverage: Readers Guide Index, 1983 -- | Readers Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982)
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles in English-language periodicals. Covers some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known, but important specialized magazines. Subjects include a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. (Coverage: 1907-1984)