Finding Books
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books. Covers all major academic areas. An excellent place to start when learning the basics of any topic. Will help focus your topic, find keywords and people, and discover more in-depth books and articles. Images, audio and video files are included.
-
Encyclopaedia Judaica
by
ISBN: 9780028660974Publication Date: 2006-12-01Includes more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists. -
The New Encyclopedia of Judaism
by
Call Number: BM50 .E63 2002ISBN: 0814793886Publication Date: 2002-09-01Winner, The New York Public Library, Best of Reference Award, 2002. The New Encyclopedia of Judaism is a comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia that accessibly presents every aspect of the Jewish religion and represents current thinking among scholars in the Reform, Conservative, and Orthodox movements.
-
Jewish Encyclopedia.com
The complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906.
-
The Jewish Religion
by
ISBN: 0585227632Publication Date: 1995-01-01How do Orthodox, Conservative, and Reform Judaism differ? Is caviar kosher? Who was Maimonides? What is current Jewish thought on Jesus, sex, abortion, feminism, and capital punishment? Spanning from biblical times to the present, The Jewish Religion offers a goldmine of information on Jewish belief and practice, wisdom and culture, history and tradition. Sweeping in scope and based on impeccable scholarship, this volume's 750 alphabetical entries range from Aaron to Zweifel to illuminate virtually every facet of the Jewish heritage. -
The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion
by
Call Number: BM 50 .O94 1997ISBN: 9780195086058Publication Date: 1997-03-13This comprehensive dictionary of the Jewish religion contains nearly 2,400 alphabetically arranged entries ranging from short definitions to lengthy essays on major topics. It is the most accessible and complete one-volume resource available for information on the concepts, beliefs, and practices of historical and contemporary Jewish religious practice.
Basic Search Tips
- Capitalize Boolean logic connectors (AND, OR)
- "Tel Aviv" OR Jerusalem
- "Tel Aviv" AND Jerusalem
- Place quotation marks around keyword phrases
- "El Al"
- "Dead Sea"
- Use wildcards to display related terms
- Jewish immigra* to encompass Jewish immigration as well as Jewish immigrants (the asterisk will capture any number of letters)
- Jewish wom?n to capture Jewish woman or Jewish women (the question mark is a substitute for just one letter)
- Avoid using a wildcard in words within quotation marks. For example use Jewish immigra* and not "Jewish immigra*"
- Items not found at UD can be requested via InterLibrary Loan.
- Visit our Using DELCAT Research Guide for additional tips.
-
ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of e-books across the entire range of the humanities.
-
EBSCO eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subjects. Titles are from a variety of publishers.
-
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Partial Open Access. Partnering with academic and research institutions, HathiTrust (pronounced hah tee) provides access to millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Typically, books in the public domain (no longer under copyright) can be viewed in full by all users.
-
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with tools to find, use, and manage the information.
-
Springer Nature E-Books This link opens in a new window
An integrated platform for books, journals, and other materials published by Springer, Nature, a major publisher of science and social sciences books and journals. The UD Library has acquired Springer eBooks in most subject areas. (Coverage: 2005 --)
Browsing the stacks in Morris Library can be helpful when you are looking for print materials. Most books related to Jewish Studies fall under the following Library of Congress classifications:
BM 1-990 - Judaism
D720-728 Period between World Wars (1919-1939)
D731-838 World War II (1939-1945)
D804 contains a concentration of work on the Holocaust
DD History of Germany
PJ4501 - PJ5192 Jewish Literatures and Languages in English, Hebrew, etc.