Research Guides: Jewish Studies: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922) (available via DELCAT)

The American Hebrew was a weekly Jewish newspaper published in New York City. In 1903 it merged with the Jewish Messenger. The paper covered many topics of Jewish interest internationally, including the persecution of Jews in Romania and Russia, and the subsequent influx of Jewish immigrants to the U.S. Many prominent Jewish writers and communal workers in the United States have been contributors to its pages.

Jewish Messenger (1857-1902)

The American Hebrew (1879-1902)

The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1903-1922)

The American Hebrew (1922-1922)

America's Historical Newspapers
Digitized American newspapers

DELCAT Journal Browse
Browse or search for journals in DELCAT. When searching use keywords, journal title or use the journal's issn.
Historical Jewish Press
The Jewish press in its many and varied languages is first and foremost a source of information on the history and culture of world Jewry and on the countries of Jews' residence in the modern era.

This website's initiators, Tel Aviv University and the National Library of Israel, encourage additional partners and contributors — be they academic, public, or private groups or individuals — to join in this project, with the goal of expanding our collection and establishing within it distinctive departments organized by language and locality.

Index to Jewish Periodicals
Intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern studies. Indexes many prominent journals covering Jewish culture, history, literature, religion, and other areas of related study. Most references within this database are not found in standard periodical literature guides. (Coverage: 1988 --)
New York Times (NYTimes.com)
The New York Times Online includes the same articles and images that appear in the print edition plus additional resources including images, videos, audio, graphics and data. Crosswords not included. Content may also be accessed via the free New York Times app. Content not available via tablet. (Coverage: Limited access to 1923-1980; Full access from 1981 to the present).
New Subscribers: (have never had a personal or UDel account)
To create your new, free account, use this link: www.nytimes.com/activate-access/edu-access.
Existing New York Times Online Subscribers
Note: If you have an existing, paid NYT subscription, you must cancel it before you can activate the free UD Library provided subscription. You may cancel by emailing customercare@nytimes.com , connecting with a chat agent on the site, or calling 800-591-9233.
After cancelling your existing account:
- Go to www.accessnyt.com.
- Find your school name by selecting “University of Delaware” from the dropdown menu.
- Click “Already have an account? Log in here.”
- Input your udel.edu email address and the same password you created for your previous account.
- Select your status as “student” (enter your graduation date) or “faculty/staff.”
- Click “Continue” and you will be directed to www.nytimes.com.
Tips and Troubleshooting:
- Students will have access until they graduate.
- Faculty and staff must renew once every four years. Add your expiration date to your calendar; there will be no subsequent reminder.
- If you find that you no longer have access, it is most likely because your account has expired.
- After expiration, activate a new pass by visiting NYTimes.com/GroupPass .
- You may reset your NYT password any time here: nytimes.com/forgot
Nexis Uni
Full-text information from news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Though not required, you have the option to create a personal account that will give you access to special features such as alerts, saved searches, folders, history, annotations and more.

Vendor Lyrasis. Publisher LexisNexis.
Periodicals Index Online
An index to the contents of journals and magazines in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues through 1995, with links to the full-text of some articles. (Coverage: 1665-1995)
Project MUSE Journals
Full-text, scholarly, electronic journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. (Coverage: 1993 or later to the present)

A large number of open access e-books are also available on Project MUSE. Search DELCAT to access these free e-books.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full-text access to select major U.S. newspapers, regional U.S. newspapers, international newspaper and Black newspapers from the U.S. (Coverage: 19th and 20th centuries)
Every issue of each title includes the complete paper with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format. Researchers can study the progression of issues over time through these historical newspaper pages, including articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, editorial cartoons, and more.
Titles Included:
- The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010)
- Chicago Defender (1910-2010)
- Chicago Tribune (1849-9 years ago)
- Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010)
- Los Angeles Times (1881-9 years ago)
- New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010)
- The New York Times (1851-5 years ago)
- The News Journal (Wilmington, DE) (1871-2009)
- Norfolk Journal and Guide (1946-2010)
- The Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001)
- The Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010)
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010)
- The Times of India (1838-August 20, 2010)
- The Wall Street Journal (1889-17 years ago)
- The Washington Post (1877-17 years ago)

RAMBI - The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
Freely available from the Jewish National and University Library in Jerusalem, provides indexing for multilingual magazines and journals relating to Jewish studies and may be searched in English and Hebrew.
The Times (London)
Digital edition of The Times (London)

Academic OneFile
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN, as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. (Coverage: 1980 --)
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing access to often overlooked perspectives. Includes unique community publications not found in any other database, as well as top scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. Nearly a quarter of the articles are presented in Spanish. Dozens of major Latino publications are featured, (Coverage: 1959 --)
The database also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals.

Ethnic NewsWatch™ comprehensively covers these ethnic categories:
- African American/Caribbean/African
- Arab/Middle Eastern
- Asian/Pacific Islander
- European/Eastern European
- Hispanic
- Jewish
- Native People
Gale General OneFile
Journals and magazine on a wide range of topics. Also includes reference, newspaper, and audio content such as the full text of New York Times articles from 1995 to the present, and audio files and transcripts of National Public Radio (NPR) programs from 1990 to the present. (Coverage: 1980 --)
Global Newsstream
Recent global news content, as well as archives. Content from newspapers, newswires and news sites in full-text format. Provides large collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America and Australia. (Coverage: 1980 --)
JSTOR
Provides access to many millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Artstor images incorporated into JSTOR as of 8/1/2024.
Readers Guide Index / Readers Guide Retrospective
Indexing and full-text of popular periodicals. (Coverage: Readers Guide Index, 1983 -- | Readers Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982)

America: History and Life
Index of scholarly literature covering the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

Provides indexing of academic journals dating back to 1954, with some coverage for titles back to the early 20th century.
ATLA Religion Database
A resource for religious and theological studies. Provides bibliographic records for topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. (Coverage: 1949 --)

Compact Memory
Digitized editions of some 500 German-Jewish periodicals of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries.

Historical Abstracts
Index of literature covering world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from the 15th century to the present. Subjects include world history, military history, womens history, history of education and more. Indexes 2,300+ academic journals in over 40 languages. (Coverage: 1952 --)
MLA International Bibliography
Citations for articles, books, book chapters, and more. When available, includes links to full-text resources from the library and in open access publications. Covers a range of humanities subjects, including world languages and literatures, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric and writing, teaching of language, and history of publishing. (Coverage: 1926 --)

Can be searched in conjunction with the MLA Directory of Periodicals, which contains all information available on journals and series on the Bibliographys Master List. The Directory of Periodicals is included in the Bibliography.

Columbia International Affairs Online
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Each section of CIAO is updated with new material regularly.

CIAO is divided into the following categories: working papers, conference proceedings, journals (i.e., abstracts of journal articles), books, policy briefs, economic indicators, links and resources, schedule of events, and maps and country data.
CQ Researcher
Comprehensive reporting and analysis on “hot topics” in the news. Each single-themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, footnoted and professionally fact checked. (Coverage: 1923 --)
PAIS Index
Covers public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information. Print and electronic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration and legislation. Business topics are covered, with emphasis on economic factors, industry surveys, business-societal interactions and similar issues, rather than details of business operations. (Coverage: 1915 --)
Sociological Abstracts
Indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. (Coverage: 1952 --)

Can also be searched as part Social Services Abstracts.