Research Guides: Agriculture: Agricultural Extension

Selected sites

All universities engage in research and teaching, but the nation's more than 100 land-grant colleges and universities have a third, critical mission — extension. Through extension, land-grant colleges and universities bring vital, practical information to agricultural producers, small business owners, consumers, families, and young people.

Cooperative Extension | University of Delaware
As a land-grant university, the UD Cooperative Extension fulfills the mission of bringing university knowledge, research and resources to the people of Delaware. From nutrition classes and Master Naturalist courses to 4-H youth clubs and programs that support local agriculture, UD Cooperative Extension has something for everyone.
Crop Production | Cooperative Extension | University of Delaware
Find Delaware processing vegetable crop budgets and fresh market vegetable budgets which are available as downloadable Excel files (updated every five years).
Weekly Crop Update | Cooperative Extension | University of Delaware
A vegetable and agronomic crops newsletter to stay informed on production topics, disease and insect outbreaks, the latest weed, insect and disease control options, pasture and forage management.

Extension and Experiment Station Publications | USAIN
A collection of resources to find documents from the Extension Services and Agricultural Experiment Stations of multiple and individual states. Maintained by members of the US Agricultural Information Network (USAIN).
more...less...
Publications cover topics in agriculture, family topics, consumer issues, environment, economics, and public policy.
United States Experiment Station Record | University of North Texas
Part of the UNT Digital Library, this collection contains the full text of important historical documents from the USDA Office of Experiment Stations from September 1889 and December 1946. The Experiment Station Record was an annotated bibliography of the research work conducted at each of the U.S. state experiment stations in that period.
more...less...
These ninety-five volumes contain: Abstracts of papers from agricultural experiment stations located throughout the United States and its territories; Abstracts of papers in selected foreign publications; Statistics; Convention reports; Bulletins; Bibliographies

Delaware Agricultural Organizations
This list from the Delaware Department of Agriculture, provides resources for individuals looking to learn more about Delaware agriculture
Northeast Extension Risk Management Education Center
The mission of the Northeast Center and the national program is educating America’s farmers and ranchers to manage the unique risks of producing food for the world’s table.
Association of Northeast Extension Directors
NEED is the non-profit professional association where Cooperative Extension Directors and Administrators from the northeast region come together to set priorities, link resources, collaborate on new projects, and support an effective Extension System.