Selected databases
Databases organize, or index, information on many journals and the articles published within those journals. Databases can be the most efficient way to search for research on a topic.
- AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Citations to agricultural literature acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL). It includes journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products. - Agricultural and Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses. - Biological and Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, indexing and abstracts from essential biology and agricultural research journals. Useful for those studying the agricultural industry, veterinary science, wildlife management, and environmental science.
- CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of research on agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine, and much more. Journals, monographs, conference reports, books, annual reports, and other sources from more than 100 countries are scanned.
- PubAgPubAg is the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), National Agricultural Library's (NAL) search system for agricultural information. It contains full-text articles relevant to the agricultural sciences, along with citations to peer-reviewed journal articles with links to publisher sites and elsewhere for full-text access. The citations have been enriched through subject analysis and application of terms from NALT (NAL's Agricultural Thesaurus).
Multidisciplinary databases cover numerous subjects, including agriculture and related fields.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that can be searched individually or in various combinations. WoS indexs the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, and workshops across the globe.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A citation and abstracting database covering thousands of active titles, primarily peer-reviewed journals. Also includes eBooks, major reference works and graduate level textbooks. Emphasis on social sciences, arts and humanities, but also includes science, technology and medicine. Includes thousands of Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, and patents. (Coverage: Primarily 1970-present. Some pre-1970 records going back to 1788)
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN, as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. (Coverage: 1980 --)
- AgEcon SearchAgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural and applied economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food security and supply, energy and natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, international trade, and economic development. Content includes conference presentations, working papers, journal articles, government documents, and theses and dissertations.
- Agriculture (Gale OneFile)Provides access to journals covering agriculture and its related fields. Researchers can access current and authoritative periodical content that spans the industry—from practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge scientific research in horticulture.
- agriRxivA free, open access source of unpublished preprints across the agricultural sciences. Articles are not peer-reviewed, edited, or typeset before being posted online. agriRxiv moderates and indexes all content to ensure it is appropriate for our users, and that it can be easily found and shared.
- AGRIS This link opens in a new windowMultilingual bibliographic collection of food and agricultural scientific research. Facilitates access to books, journal articles, monographs, book chapters, datasets and grey literature - including unpublished scientific and technical reports, theses, dissertations and conference papers in the area of food and agriculture.
- Gardening and Horticulture (Gale OneFile)Focuses on the practical aspects and the scientific theory of horticulture studies. Gardening and Horticulture offers biotechnologists, farmers, hobbyists, and landscape architects access to important content relevant to their pursuits.
- Natural Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting for journals within the natural sciences. Brings together ProQuests 6 natural sciences collections: Agriculture Science, Aquatic Science, Atmospheric Science, Biological Science, Earth Science and Environmental Science. (Coverage: 1962 --)