Reference Book Databases
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books. Covers all major academic areas. An excellent place to start when learning the basics of any topic. Will help focus your topic, find keywords and people, and discover more in-depth books and articles. Images, audio and video files are included.
- Knovel This link opens in a new window
An extensive online library of full-text content from leading publishers and societies. Covers engineering, chemistry, biochemistry, earth and environmental sciences, and more.
Interlibrary Loan
Books and other materials not held by the UD Library may be obtained by Interlibrary Loan. This service is available to UD faculty, students, and staff.
Requests may be submitted by going to Interlibrary Loan.
Finding Books in Agriculture
Start with the DELCAT single search box (see above) to find books, journals and media held by the University of Delaware Library as well as material held by other libraries worldwide. You can then filter your results by using facets such as format, subject, author, or date.
Advanced Searching in DELCAT
In the Advanced Search interface, you have more options in combining your search terms and in limiting your search to specific fields (Title, Author, Subject, etc.). Searching by subject can be very helpful to focus the results. Look at the subject headings listed in your results to find applicable terms. Below are a few examples of subject headings in agriculture:
* Agricultural development -- Asia
* Farm income
* Family farms
* Food industry and trade
Selected resources
- Annual Plant Reviews onlineFind topical, high-quality, research-focused reviews related to a spectrum of topics relating to pure and applied aspects of plant and crop science.
Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems by Call Number: eBook - CredoISBN: 9780080931395Publication Date: 2014This work covers the breadth of issues that define modern agriculture and food systems. Many of the topics discussed are those widely defined as traditional agriculture, i.e. crops, animals, their production systems and protection from pests and diseases.
Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics by Call Number: eBook - SpringerlinkISBN: 9789400709294Publication Date: 2014Offers a definitive source on issues pertaining to the full range of topics in the important new area of food and agricultural ethics. It includes summaries of historical approaches, current scholarship, social movements, and new trends from the standpoint of the ethical notions that have shaped them.
Handbook on Agriculture, Biotechnology and Development by Call Number: S494.5.B563 H36x 2014ISBN: 9780857938343
