Index and guide to Web Virtual Library Pages on various agriculture disciplines. Clicking on the “Agriculture” header, you are forwarded to an interactive general agriculture page. The “Index” portion of that general page includes a classified listing, featuring such items as “Ag Sites Around the World,” as well as commercial sites, US sites, electronic journals and textbooks. Also included are additional links to related Virtual Library pages in economics, biology, and technology.
A guide to general information and news about the U.S. Department of Agriculture and a starting point to access internet information about and produced by the many divisions, services and agencies of this important federal government department. Use the "Our Agency" link to find “About USDA” to find pointers to individual agencies as well as career opportunities.
Introduction to and preliminary data from the 2007 Census. Links to tables and downloadable files from the 2002, 1997 and 1992 Censuses of Agriculture. “The Census of Agriculture is a complete accounting of United States agricultural production....[and] includes as a farm every place from which $1,000 or more of agricultural products were produced and sold or normally would have been sold during the census year.”
The USDA’s reporting system for ongoing and recently completed research projects in the agricultural and food sciences. The projects included are those conducted or sponsored by federal agencies and state agencies cooperating with the USDA through the land-grant university system and agricultural experiment stations, among others. Each record includes the title of a funded project, the researchers involved, their institutions, a statement of progress, and often a brief bibliography.
“eXtension provides objective and research-based information and learning opportunities that help people improve their lives. eXtension is an educational partnership of 74 [Land Grant] universities in the United States.” A very complete database of information and Web page links created by and for Cooperative Extension programs throughout the U.S. It is intended for use by the general public, as well as by students, researchers and extension agents.
A collection of over 250,000 pages of full text electronic documents from the Extension Services and Agricultural Experiment Stations of over fifteen states, searchable by keyword and by region of the country. A single-stop access to a large number of useful and reputable publications on topics in agriculture, family topics, consumer issues, environment, economics, and public policy.
From the University of North Texas Libraries Digital Collections server, contains full text of important historical documents from the USDA Office of Experiment Stations from 1890 to 1954. The Experiment Station Record was an annotated bibliography of the research work conducted at each of the U.S. state experiment stations in that period.
Home page of the largest agricultural library in the world, one of the four national libraries in the United States. Includes informational pages, guidelines and policies, and a link to the library catalog, ISIS, as well as other links to Internet search tools
A data access system maintained by the US Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, the Ag Data Commons provides access to a wide variety of open data relevant to agricultural research and related domains such as agronomy, genomics, hydrology, soils, agro-ecosystems, sustainability science, and economic statistics.
Produced by the United States Agricultural Information Network, this experimental project lists just under 100 journal and periodical titles fully or partially available on the Web. The emphasis is on commercial and “small press” publications, rather than those from Cooperative Extension agencies, which are covered in E-Answers, above. It is also a link under “Where else can I find information” on the general USAIN page.
From CABI Publishing (CAB Abstracts), a combination of fee-based and free services, including news, reviews, book chapters, reports, abstracts, calendar, jobs and conference material on agricultural biotech.
CAST is a nonprofit organization composed of scientific societies and many individual, student, company, nonprofit, and associate society members.The primary work of CAST is the publication of task force reports, commentary papers, special publications, and issue papers written by scientists from many disciplines. Site included many papers and reports, free and available for order.
Located at University of Michigan, this bibliographic database dedicated to indexing turfgrass literature is the most comprehensive publicly available collection of turfgrass research and education material in the world.