Chromosome to DNA
Attribution: Thomas Splettstoesser / CC BY-SA
An x-shaped chromosome is made up of tightly wound strands of DNA. DNA has smaller sections, called genes, which can "code" for physical traits.
Selected Databases for Biological Literature
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
With the Science Citation Index in the Web of Science's core collection, you can do a 'Cited Reference Search' for a different approach to assessing the literature. By grouping together all articles that cite the same earlier work, you can trace the scientific "lineage" of ideas, reveal associations of ideas across disciplines, identify influential papers or authors, uncover subsequent errata or critiques. - PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A free resource from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Drawing on the biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books, the citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bio-engineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources. - Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
- ScienceOpenScienceOpen serves as a professional networking platform and offers a freely accessible search and discovery platform with smart filters, topical collections and input from the academic community (post-publication peer review, recommendation, social sharing).
- BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of life sciences research across all subject areas, including traditional areas of biology (botany, zoology, and microbiology) alongside related and interdisciplinary fields (agriculture, biochemistry, bioengineering, biomedical, biophysics, biotechnology, ecology, medicine, and pharmacology). Coverage: 1926-present. - Biological and Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Updated on a daily basis, this database is a highly valuable resource for those studying agricultural industry, veterinary science, wildlife management and more. Citations to articles in biology, agriculture, and related sciences published in some 380+ periodicals, ranging from scientific journals to popular publications. Coverage: 1983-present - Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary database offering abstracts and citations to research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology for journal articles, conference proceedings, monographs, technical reports, and selected books and patents. Collectively called "Medical & Biological Sciences", the databases include Biological Sciences, Biology Digest, Conference Papers Index, MEDLINE, Plant Science, and TOXLINE. There are also links to ChemoReception Web. - CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of research on agriculture in the broadest sense. Subjects include agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, plant science, mycology and parasitology, food science, human health, and nutrition. Journals, conference proceedings, books, annual reports, and other sources; publications from over 120 countries in 50 languages. - SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An important index for chemistry, SciFinder (the Web version of Chemical Abstracts) also covers many facets of molecular biology, making it a useful tool for the biologist.
- arXiv.orgarXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Owned and operated by Cornell University.
- bioRxivbioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution.
- ChemRxivChemRxiv (pronounced 'chem-archive') is a free submission, distribution, and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas.
- Dryad Digital RepositoryThe Dryad Digital Repository is a curated resource that makes research data discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of data types.
- OpenDOAROpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. We host repositories that provide free, open access to academic outputs and resources.
- UDSpace - Institutional RepositoryThe Institutional Repository consists of University of Delaware original research in digital form, including articles, working papers, technical reports, conference papers, books, data sets, the University’s undergraduate and graduate catalog, images, and more.
From Off-Campus
For current students, faculty and staff
When accessing Library databases, eJournals or eBooks, you may be taken to the Central Authentication Service (CAS) page for login with your UDelNet ID and password. You should only need to do this once during your session. Please visit the Proxy FAQs to learn more about off-campus access and the need to "authenticate".