Research Guides: Cartographic Resources, Maps, and Spatial Data: State Maps & Data

State Maps and Atlases

Search the library catalog DELCAT to find state maps available in print or online. Link to search results limited to Resource Type = Maps

Atlas of Historical County Boundaries
The Atlas presents in maps and text complete data about the creation and all subsequent changes (dated to the day) in the size, shape, and location of every county in the fifty United States and the District of Columbia. The principal sources for these data are the session laws of the colonies, territories, and states that created and changed the counties.
Find a National Park Service Map
Find National Park Service maps and access the collection of National Park System Maps

Delaware maps and spatial data sets

The Morris Library Maps collection contains 15- and 7.5-minute topographic maps published in the 20th Century for the state of Delaware. Additional printed Delaware maps are included in the Library's Special Collections. Many of the resources listed on other pages of this guide offer access to Delaware maps and spatial data. If you do not find what you need here please Ask a Librarian.

The most current topographic maps of the state are created as PDF files and are available through the USGS website.

Delaware Open Data
Data sets from a wide range of agencies in the State of Delaware.
Delaware FirstMap
DE FirstMap serves as a self-service GIS hub for sharing data among State organizations, academia, local governments and the general public. There are available over 200 layers of information for you to download, including data layers, imagery, and documents.
Delaware Census State Data Center
The Delaware Census State Data Center is a network of state, local, academic and private sector partners organized under an agreement between the State of Delaware and the U.S. Census Bureau and working together to create, share, and disseminate demographic, economic and other data for Delaware.
Community Tree Canopy
Delaware Forest Service online mapping of tree canopies.
Delaware 1868 Hundreds Maps
Scanned maps from the Pomeroy and Beers Atlas of 1868. Each hundred is available in Georeferenced Tiff format or in plain PDF format.
Delaware DataMIL 7.5 Minute Series (topographic) Maps
These Delaware DataMIL 7.5-minute topographic maps replace the USGS 7.5-minute Primary Map Series for the State of Delaware. In January 2008, copies of the maps were deposited to the University of Delaware Library Institutional Repository as the first in a series of an annual archived copies. Files are in Adobe PDF format.
DelDOT Interactive maps
Delaware Department of Transportation (DelDOT) provides live traffic and travel information.
DGS Digital Datasets | The Delaware Geological Survey
DGS offers 27 datasets in a variety of formats. "Digital data released by the DGS represent the results of original professional research and as such are used by professionals and the public."
DGS Publications | The Delaware Geological Survey
The Delaware Geological Survey (DGS) was established by the General Assembly in 1837 and reestablished in 1951. The Survey's mission is, by statute, geologic and hydrologic research and exploration, and dissemination of information through publication and public service.

Other Mid-Atlantic States

District of Columbia | Open Data DC
District of Columbia has provided public access to city operational data in as open, discoverable and usable as possible in hopes of fostering greater participation and collaboration. Search the site's datasets by topic, or explore featured datasets or review the full list of DC Data sets.
Maryland Geospatial Products and Services
From the Maryland Department of Natural Resources, search a listing of various maps located on the site. Types of maps listed include, but are not limited to: Land and Water Trails, State Parks, State Forests, Wildlife Management Areas, Water Quality maps, and interactive mapping such as MERLIN Online. You can also obtain GIS data.
Maryland Map Collection
The Maryland Map collection is a comprehensive collection of more than 2,500 maps depicting Maryland, the Chesapeake Bay, and the surrounding region from 1590 to the present. The collection contains many rare early maps of Maryland as well as more modern maps produced by state and local governments. Some selected maps have been digitized and are available on this site.
New Jersey Geographic Information Network
The New Jersey Geographic Information Network (NJGIN) consists of a loose federation of data stewards across the state that openly share their valuable spatial data. The focal point of the network is this website, where information consumers can search for geospatial content and data stewards can share their authoritative geospatial content.
New York State Coastal Atlas on the GIS Gateway
The New York State Coastal Atlas provides a visual representation of the State’s Coastal Area Boundary and many of the important state and federal planning tools including: Significant Coastal Fish and Wildlife Habitats (SCFWH); Scenic Areas of Statewide Significance (SASS); Local Waterfront Revitalization Program (LWRP) Communities; Long Island Sound Coastal Management Plan (LIS CMP) Boundary; federally-owned lands; and Native American owned lands.
NYS GIS Clearinghouse
New York State Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Clearinghouse. The NYS Geospatial Advisory Council coordinates, promotes and facilitates the development, effective use, and sharing of geographic information.
Pennsylvania Spatial Data Access | PASDA Home Page
Pennsylvania Spatial Data Access (PASDA) is the official public access geospatial information clearinghouse for the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and has served for twelve years as Pennsylvania's node on the National Spatial Data Infrastructure, Geospatial One-Stop, and the National Biological Information Infrastructure.PASDA
West Virginia | MapWV
MapWV is a public gateway to online mapping resources giving users access to a wealth of high-quality maps and geographic data via the Internet. All maps are free for use by the public.
West Virginia | WVGISTC: GIS Data Clearinghouse
West Virginia State GIS Technical Center: To provide focus, direction and leadership to users of geographic information systems (GIS), digital mapping and remote sensing within the State of West Virginia.