UD Library Resources
The Digital Mapping Station in the Student Multimedia Design Center has 5 seats of ArcInfo, a complete desktop GIS running ArcGIS 9.2, a popular Geographic Information System (GIS) software by ESRI. The Digital Mapping Station has this software plus preloaded ESRI data to use with the application. Use of the Digital Mapping Station is restricted to those using GIS software or doing Digital Mapping work. A color printer is available for those who wish to print out maps created on the Digital Mapping Station.
UD Resources
The University of Delaware has licenses for ArcInfo and a variety of data sets. UD faculty, staff, and students may take many courses and web workshops from the ESRI's Virtual Campus.
- UD GISGeographic Information Systems at University of Delaware
- Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)UD's membership in ICPSR provides access to curated data.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowPolicyMap is a cloud based data and mapping platform that facilitates the analyses of large amounts of data and quickly displays the data through maps, tables, charts and reports.
Spatial Data for Delaware
Spatial data supports many areas of research. State-based data sets allow researchers to show the effects of variables in areas of intereest. Delaware data may also be identified using resources listed for other Mid-Atlantic States or the United States.
- Delaware DataMIL 7.5 Minute Series (topographic) MapsThese Delaware DataMIL 7.5-minute topographic maps replace the USGS 7.5-minute Primary Map Series for the State of Delaware. In January 2008, copies of the maps were deposited to the University of Delaware Library Institutional Repository as the first in a series of an annual archived copies. Files are in Adobe PDF format.
- Delaware Office of State Planning CoordinationThe Office of State Planning Coordination (OSPC) reports to the Governor's Office and works closely with the Cabinet Committee on State Planning Issues. The Office of State Planning Coordination's mission is the continuous improvement of the coordination and effectiveness of land use decisions made by state, county, and municipal governments while building and maintaining a high quality of life in the State of Delaware.
- DGS Digital Datasets | The Delaware Geological SurveyData is available for download from the Delaware Geological Survey in a variety of formats.
- Delaware FirstMapThe First State’s enterprise Geographic Information System (GIS), a self-service GIS for sharing data among State organizations, academia, local governments and the general public.
- Geographic Data Exchange User's ManualPublished by the State of Delaware's Department of Technology and Information (DTI).
- Libre Map Project : Delaware : Free Maps and DataAggregates and makes digital maps and related GIS data available for free. Include Digital Raster Graphics of 1:24,000 scale USGS topographic maps for all 50 states; SVG boundary border files for all US states (including state, county, and town boundaries); and 2003 TIGER/Line files. GeoNames - All USGS place names are available for searching. The data can be used to find appropriate DRG's.
Spatial Data for Other Mid-Atlantic States
- District of Columbia Open DataDistrict of Columbia has provided public access to city operational data in as open, discoverable and usable as possible in hopes of fostering greater participation and collaboration. Search the site's datasets by topic, or explore featured datasets or review the full list of DC Data sets.
- Geospatial Data from MD Department of Natural ResourcesThe GeoSpatial Data Center from the Maryland Department of Natural Resources offers natural resources and related data for use in Geographic Information Systems (GIS). The data can be freely downloaded. There are no costs or registration required to obtain data from this site. The links at the top of each page allow you to download data, view samples of the available data, or get help regarding this site and the data available on it.
- New Jersey Geographic Information NetworkThe New Jersey Geographic Information Network (NJGIN) consists of a loose federation of data stewards across the state that openly share their valuable spatial data. The focal point of the network is this website, where information consumers can search for geospatial content and data stewards can share their authoritative geospatial content.
- NYS GIS ClearinghouseNew York State Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Clearinghouse. The NYS Geospatial Advisory Council coordinates, promotes and facilitates the development, effective use, and sharing of geographic information.
- [Pennsylvania Spatial Data Access] PASDA Home PagePennsylvania Spatial Data Access (PASDA) is the official public access geospatial information clearinghouse for the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and has served for twelve years as Pennsylvania's node on the National Spatial Data Infrastructure, Geospatial One-Stop, and the National Biological Information Infrastructure.PASDA
- Virginia's Statewide GIS ClearinghouseA repository of geospatial data produced and used by state agencies in Virginia, localities in Virginia, our federal partners, non-profits, and colleges and universities in Virginia. Hosted by the Virginia Geographic Information Network (VGIN) and the Virginia Information Technologies Agency (VITA).
- [West Virginia] WVGISTC: GIS Data ClearinghouseWest Virginia State GIS Technical Center: To provide focus, direction and leadership to users of geographic information systems (GIS), digital mapping and remote sensing within the State of West Virginia.
- The Federal Geographic Data Committee — Federal Geographic Data CommitteeThe Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC) is an interagency committee that promotes the coordinated development, use, sharing, and dissemination of geospatial data on a national basis. This nationwide data publishing effort is known as the National Spatial Data Infrastructure (NSDI).
- Maryland Geological Survey DataGIS data in various formats.
- MERLIN OnlineWith MERLIN, (Maryland 's Environmental Resources & Land Information Network) maps can be tailored to suit many needs. Includes GIS data and maps.
- Mid-Atlantic Ocean Data PortalAn online toolkit and resource center consolidating data and enabling state, federal and local users to visualize and analyze ocean resources and human use information. Includes fishing grounds, recreational areas, shipping lanes, habitat areas, and energy sites, among others.
Spatial Data for the United States & Beyond
- Atlas of Rural and Small-Town AmericaProduced by the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Economic Research Service, provides statistics by broad categories of socioeconomic factors: people, jobs, county classifications, income, veterans
- Digital Coast Data | NOAAData types include: Elevation; Land Cover; Weather, Climate, and Hazards; Imagery; Economic and Demographic (and more).
- Data.govThe Data.gov catalog provides access to U.S. Federal Executive Branch datasets, including spatial data.
- Data Availability | NHGISThe National Historical Geographic Information System provides a variety of spatial data.
- Digital Coast | NOAAThe website provides coastal data, tools, training, and information for the unique needs of the coastal management community. The Digital Coast is managed by NOAA’s Office for Coastal Management.
- Digital Nautical Chart (DNC)The Digital Nautical Chart (DNC) is produced by the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA) and is a vector-based digital product containing maritime significant features essential for safe marine navigation. DNC, for areas in which the US is the prime charting authority, is unclassified. All other areas are limited distribution.
- Do-It-Yourself GIS: 20 Free Tools & Data Sources for Creating Data Maps - OEDB.org"Data Sources" section includes many good resources.
- EarthExplorer | USGS"Query and order satellite images, aerial photographs, and cartographic products through the U.S. Geological Survey."
- Gridded Bathymetry Data | GEBCOGeneral Bathymetric Chart of the Oceans (GEBCO) aims to provide the most authoritative, publicly-available bathymetry data sets for the world’s oceans. The GEBCO_2020 grid is a global terrain model for ocean and land at 15 arc-second intervals.
- GeoData@TuftsGeoData@Tufts is developed and maintained by Tufts University Information Technology. Tufts is leading the development in collaboration with Harvard of this open source, federated web application to rapidly discover, preview, and retrieve geospatial data from multiple repositories. GeoData@Tufts combines an intuitive, map-based search interface along with traditional text-based metadata search tools for rapid data discovery and for use in teaching, learning, and research.
- GeoGratis | Topographic InformationSite provides geospatial applications and tools. From the Earth Sciences sector of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan)
- Geospatial Platform"The Geospatial Platform provides shared and trusted geospatial data, services, and applications for use by government agencies, their partners and the public "
- Geospatial Resources at US EPAEPA has developed many applications that allow users to explore and interact with geospatial data. This page highlights some of the flagship geospatial web applications but these represent only a fraction of the total.
- GIS InventoryNational States Geographic Information Council (NSGIC) tracks data availability and the status of geographic information system (GIS) implementation in state and local governments to aid the planning and building of Spatial Data Infrastructures.
- GIS and Public Health at CDCThe Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) study the spatial aspects of health and illness using a variety of tools such as maps, spatial statistics, and Geographic Information Systems (GIS). Content source: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division for Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention
- NASA WorldWindWorldWind is an open source virtual globe API. WorldWind allows developers to quickly and easily create interactive visualizations of 3D globe, map and geographical information. Organizations around the world use WorldWind to monitor weather patterns, visualize cities and terrain, track vehicle movement, analyze geospatial data and educate humanity about the Earth.
- National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)Site provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States from 1790 to present.
- The National Map - Data Delivery | USGSThis site provides applications and web map services for "Topographic Information for the Nation". This information includes topographic maps and geographic information system (GIS) data for elevation, hydrography, watersheds, geographic names, orthoimagery, governmental units/boundaries, transportation, and land cover.
- National Transportation Atlas Database (NTAD)A set of nationwide geographic databases of transportation facilities, transportation networks, and associated infrastructure. These datasets include spatial information for transportation modal networks and intermodal terminals, as well as the related attribute information for these features.
- Natural Earth"Natural Earth is a public domain map dataset available at 1:10m, 1:50m, and 1:110 million scales. Featuring tightly integrated vector and raster data, with Natural Earth you can make a variety of visually pleasing, well-crafted maps with cartography or GIS software."
- NOS Data ExplorerData Explorer is your portal for discovering NOAA's National Ocean Service (NOS) spatial data collections.
- Places in History (Library of Congress)Historic Places in History maps are available as kmz files for download from the Library of Congress website.
- Shoreline/Coastline ResourcesThe National Geophysical Data Center provides access to a variety of shoreline/coastline data sets. from NOAA and non-NOAA sources. All datasets are in WGS84 geographic (simple latitudes and longitudes; decimal degrees) horizontal datum.
- TIGERweb | U.S. Census Bureau | Geography DivisionA web-based system that allows users to visualize the TIGER (Topologically Integrated Geographic Encoding and Referencing database) data. Users can select features and view their attributes, search for features by name or geocode, and identify features by selecting them from a map. TIGER data can be viewed without Geographic Information System (GIS) software and without downloading data.
- Geospatial Data Gateway | USDA NRCSThe Geospatial Data Gateway (GDG) provides access to a map library of over 100 high resolution vector and raster layers in the Geospatial Data Warehouse. It is the One Stop Source for environmental and natural resources data, at any time, from anywhere, to anyone. It allows you to choose your area of interest, browse and select data, customize the format, then review and download.
- USGS Mineral Resources On-Line Spatial DataInteractive maps and downloadable data for regional and global geology, geochemistry, geophysics, and mineral resources.
- General Social SurveyThe GSS is an "omnibus," personal interview survey of U.S. households conducted by the National Opinion Research Center (NORC) since 1972
Vendors
- Geospatial Data Gateway | USDA NRCS:The Geospatial Data Gateway (GDG) provides access to a map library of over 100 high resolution vector and raster layers in the Geospatial Data Warehouse. It is the One Stop Source for environmental and natural resources data, at any time, from anywhere, to anyone. It allows you to choose your area of interest, browse and select data, customize the format, then review and download.