Research Guides: FASH420: Assortment Planning,Sourcing and Buying (Shaffer): Databases

Databases

The databases listed below are just a few of the library resources available to support your research.

Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Full text articles, economic and business indicators, country profiles, executive videos, and more
Searches can be done on company name or ticker symbol, industry code/description (SIC or NAICS), subjects in article, geographic search, or personal name. Searches can be limited by journal name, date range, or content area.
Passport This link opens in a new window
A global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide
IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
U.S. industry reports at the 5-digit level of the NAICS code; trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors and industry growth rates; Performance analysis includes emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance.;5 year forecasts, and Risk Rating Reports
All reports in this collection are updated between 1 and 4 times a year.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Relevant and quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets

Psychographics

Psychographics: "Demographic research that studies population groups with respect to psychological attributes, such as values or attitudes, as for marketing purposes" (American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language).

Lifestyle: "a particular way of living: the way a person lives or a group of people live" (Merriam-Webster.com).

The databases below can be used to obtain psychographic information about a target audience.

Image: https://www.wordstream.com/blog/ws/2017/08/16/psychographics-in-marketing

ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of business and financial journals, including essential scholarly journals and the most important trade journals.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text for thousands of journals, covering all disciplines of business. (Coverage: Varies according to journal, some back to 1922.)
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science, mental health and related disciplines. (Coverage: 1806 --)

More Resources

Business of Fashion (BOF)
Covers issues at the intersection of fashion and business, including fashion business intelligence and opinionated analysis on emerging designers and global brands from around the world.

WGSN Fashion This link opens in a new window
Provides fashion industry forecasting and analysis. Includes facts, figures and photos from around the world including creative inspiration, real-time retail coverage, seasonal trend analysis, consumer research and business information.
You will need to create a personal account to access certain areas of WGSN Fashion. Go to "Log in" in the upper right corner of the website. Select "Create a New Account." Use your University of Delaware email to create a WGSN account. Your account will expire after 90 days of not being used; log in again to reactivate.

WWD.com
WWD is the authority for breaking news, comprehensive business coverage and trends in the worlds of fashion, beauty and retail.