The Industry Overview - ENGL312 - Written Communications in Business - Research Guides at University of Delaware

Industry Profile

Sources for Industry Classification:

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS): A standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. NAICS codes play an important role in industry research and it is very important in conducting good Industry research and Analysis. Examples: 722511 (Restaurants); 423450 (Medical Equipment & Devices) ;541921 (Photography Studios) and 812113 (Nail Salons )

The IBISWorld Industry Report database has specialized industry report codes. These codes cover special industries and provides analysis for new industries or specialized products not captured by NAICS. These codes cover special industries, e.g. OD4260 - Candle Manufacturing.

Recommended Databases:

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text for thousands of journals, covering all disciplines of business. (Coverage: Varies according to journal, some back to 1922.)
Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Full-text company and industry intelligence on global corporations.
Searches can be done on company name or ticker symbol, industry code/description (SIC or NAICS), subjects in article, geographic search, or personal name. Searches can be limited by journal name, date range, or content area.

For other databases, see Library Database page

Industry Analysis

A review of the industry issues that can impact the industry such economics, political, business cycles, government regulations, revenue size, risks, etc. (See also section on SWOT Analysis)

Recommended Databases:

IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
U.S. industry market research and industry risk ratings. Contains trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates. Includes emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance.
All reports in this collection are updated between 1 and 4 times a year.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest and markets.
Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Full-text company and industry intelligence on global corporations.
Searches can be done on company name or ticker symbol, industry code/description (SIC or NAICS), subjects in article, geographic search, or personal name. Searches can be limited by journal name, date range, or content area.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
(Use First Search Tab)
Residential Search: Find address and other contact information on individuals.
Demographics Search: Demographic reports on a geographic area of your choice. Data includes statistics on the area's population, including age, race, gender, income and more.
Passport This link opens in a new window
A global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers.
You must be a current University of Delaware student, faculty, or staff member to use this database. A valid UDNetID and password are required.

For other databases, see Library Database page