Research Guides: Ancient Greek and Roman Studies: Databases

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Oxford Classical Dictionary - 4th edition
Print and ebook guide to all aspects of the ancient world - political, economic, philosophical, religious, artistic, and social.
Credo Ancient History
An ebook collection.

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Gateway to Oxford’s art reference works, including the regularly updated Grove® Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. Includes articles that span ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as images of works of art, structures, plans and artist signatures.
Subscription is for 3 simultaneous users.

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
An encyclopedia that studies the history of Western thought and culture by exploring pivotal topics of human concern. We own it in both print and ebook formats.

Databases - Languages, Literature, Linguistics, Philology

TOCS-IN - Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists

Annee Philologique This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Includes all volumes of the annual index, beginning with Vol. 1. (Coverage: 1928 --)
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics, including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 authors and their works in all disciplines, all time periods, and from around the world.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
The digital Loeb Classical Library extends the founding mission of James Loeb with an interconnected, fully searchable, growing virtual library of important Greek and Latin literature. Includes up-to-date and accurate English translations of hundreds of volumes of Latin and Greek texts.

The Abridged TLG (Thesaurus Linguae Graecae)

Databases - Anthropology, Archaeology, Art History, History, Philosophy

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Compilation of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature databases. An extensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. (Coverage: late 19th c. --)
Art Abstracts/Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracts and citations for hundreds of periodicals on art, art history and related disciplines. (Coverage: Abstracts, 1984 --, Indexes, 1929-1984)
Subjects include art history and criticism, architecture and architectural history, archaeology, antiques, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, interior design, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, decorative arts, costume design, television and video, motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles, and related fields.
International Medieval Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa in the period 400-1500 (Coverage: 1967 --)
Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
A collection of materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. The platform contains databases, books, journals, and more. (Coverage: 1842 --) See below for more information about the resources included in Iter.
Iter Bibliography: Citations for journal articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogs, abstracts, discographies, monographs, and material published in monographs and collections of essays pertaining to the Middles Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

Iter Italicum: Online version of Paul Oskar Kristeller’s Iter Italicum, the most comprehensive finding list available of previously uncataloged or incompletely cataloged Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world.

Renaissance and Reformation/Renaissance et Réforme: A peer-reviewed quarterly journal, multidisciplinary and bilingual, on all aspects of the Renaissance and Reformation period.

Early Theatre: A peer-reviewed journal that publishes articles on medieval or early modern drama and theatre history, rooted in the records and documents of England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales.

REED (Records of Early English Drama): (1976-1997) Published documentary evidence of early drama, items on records research, and requests by scholars for information. It was superseded by the peer-reviewed journal, Early Theatre.

Aestimatio: Provides critical, timely assessments of books published in the history of what was called science from antiquity up to the early modern period in cultures ranging from Spain to India, and from Africa to northern Europe.

The Electronic Capito Project: Provides access to the text of letters from and to Wolfgang Faber Capito (c. 1478-1541).
Philosophers Index This link opens in a new window
Bliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. (Coverage: 1940 --)

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN, as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. (Coverage: 1980 --)
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that can be searched individually or in various combinations. WoS indexs the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, and workshops across the globe.
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
An index to the contents of journals and magazines in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues through 1995, with links to the full-text of some articles. (Coverage: 1665-1995)
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world, offering over 5 million citations and 3 million full-text works from thousands of universities.