Find Sources
Search in DELCAT for books and articles on your topic
- Use the CITE button to save the citation for sources you want to explore further.
- Use the SHARE button to save a link to the catalog record so you can get back to it quickly.
Select at least one subject or multidisciplinary database related to your topic.
- Perform a search using different combinations of keywords you identified when exploring your topic.
- Note SUBJECT TERMS listed in articles of interest. Consider adding those into your search.
- Use the CITE tool on the source page to save citations of sources you want to explore further.
- Download the PDF of the articles you want to read.
TIP: The easiest way to get back to articles you didn't download but have the citation for is to paste just the title into the DELCAT search box. You can then download the article or use the SHARE button to save a stable link to get back to it.
- Your topic
- The citation for your source
Subject & Multidisciplinary Databases
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. (Coverage: 1952 --)
- Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database for criminal justice and criminology research. Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering all related subjects, including forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law, and investigation. (Coverage 1968 --)
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science, mental health and related disciplines. (Coverage: 1806 --)
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowGood for legal research. In addition to scholarly articles, you can find legal cases, bills and laws, and newspaper articles.
If researchers from many different fields may write about your topic, it's a good idea to search in a multidisciplinary database.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to many millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Artstor images incorporated into JSTOR as of 8/1/2024.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that can be searched individually or in various combinations. WoS indexs the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, and workshops across the globe.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Partial Open Access. Search engine specifically for scholarly publications. You can access the full-text of articles from open access and preprint publications, but you must be logged in to your UDel email account in order to access subscriptions provided by the UD Library.
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of articles from newspapers throughout the world
- Newspaper CollectionsUse this link to explore more specific newspaper titles (e.g. historical, international)
- Statista This link opens in a new windowFind statistics for your paper. Don't forget to check the source for your citation.
- Docuseek Complete Collection (Docuseek platform) This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of documentaries
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of tens of thousands of videos spanning a wide range of subject areas such as anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, and music. More
Research Tip: How to Narrow Your Search
- Combine concepts with AND to find more relevant sources
- picasso AND Africa
- internet AND privacy
- bedrock AND Massachusetts AND hydrology
- Use “quotation marks” to find exact phrases
- "rock art"
- “African diaspora”
- “invertible matrix”
Research Tip: How to Broaden Your Search
- Use ORs and parentheses to combine synonyms or multiple topics
- (oil OR petroleum OR crude)
- (antibiotic OR antiviral)
- (woman OR girl OR female)
- Truncate roots of important words to find plurals and more
- perform* (searches for perform, performance, performativity, etc.)
- cell$
- pregnan!
- Insert a wild card symbol to catch words with different spellings
- wom?n
- coloni#ation
- colo$r
*Truncation and wild cards work differently in different databases. Check the help section of the database to learn what symbol to use and how to properly use it.