Related Library Guides
World Demographics
- World Family Map - Mapping Family Change and Child Well-being Outcomes
The World Family Map Project monitors the global health of the family by tracking 16 indicators of family structure, family socioeconomics, family processes, and family culture in multiple countries around the world. Each annual report of the project shares the latest data on these indicators, as well as an original essay focusing on one important aspect of contemporary family life. - Demographic Yearbook (UN)
United Nations, Dept. of Economic and Social Affairs, Statistical Office. - World Factbook (Central Intelligence Agency, CIA)
Maps and data for countries of the world. - Population Reference BureauPresents information about world population, health, and environment. PRB's most popular publication is the World Population Data Sheet. The 2017 edition includes a special focus on the world’s youth (ages 15-24), with indicators and analytical graphics that assess whether youth are poised to become productive adults.
- Demographic and Social Statistics (UNSD)United Nations Statistics Division.
- Gender StatisticsA blog with videos and charts pertaining to gender statistics.
Data & Statistics Resources
- Explore Census DataFor data from the Census 2010 and Census 2000.
- Child and Family Data ArchiveCFData holds hundreds of datasets and accompanying documentation for secondary data analysis on important issues of policy and practice relevance, including data previously housed with Child Care and Early Education Research Connections (CCEERC).
- ICPSRICPSR offers more than 500,000 digital files containing social science research data. Disciplines represented include political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, terrorism, health and medical care, early education, education, racial and ethnic minorities, psychology, law, substance abuse and mental health, and more.
- Roper iPOLL This link opens in a new windowPublic opinion data from The Roper Center, the largest archives of public opinion information. iPOLL is a comprehensive database of questions and answers asked in the US since 1935.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowThis statistical database provides a visual representation of statistics from the US Census and other government provided datasets.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowprovides abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from US Federal statistics publications, state government and business statistics, and international sources.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowA good resource for statistics on many issues across the field of business and economics. Categorized into over 21 market sectors, Statista provides access to relevant and quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest.
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesThis volume serves as a prime source for U.S. industrial, social, political, and economic statistics.
United States
- Explore Census DataCensus Bureau website with data from American Community Survey, decennial censuses (2000 and 2010), economic censuses and surveys, and many more.
Use the Community Facts option to get popular statistics for a place.
Use Guided Search to customize your search. - Age and Sex data (Census Bureau)Offers News and Publications.
- Race: About (Census Bureau)Has definitions of the racial groupings used in Census reports. Also, links to Publications, News, and general information. Note: Hispanic is not a race; a person who is Hispanic may be of any race.
- Aging StatsWebsite of the Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics. Provides links to multiple agencies that provide age-related statistical information.
- Childstats.govKey national indicators of well-being regarding America's children.
- Child Trends DataBankThe Child Trends DataBank includes close to 100 population-based measures, covering the domains of health and safety, child care and education, and behaviors linked to positive and negative well-being.
- FastStatsQuick access to statistics on topics of public health importance. Includes Infant Mortality, Births to teen mothers, and Drug Use, Legal and Illegal. From CDC/National Center for Health Statistics.
Education
For a full list of education statistics from state, federal, and international sources, see the Education Statistics Guide
- National Household Education Surveys Programcollects nationally representative, descriptive data on the educational activities of children and adults in the United States.
Poverty
According to the 2014 U.S. Census Bureau ACS study 27% of all African American men, women and children live below the poverty level compared to just 11% of all Americans. Poverty in Black America (blackdemographics.com)
- Income and Poverty in the United States: 2016Poverty rates are summarized by race and Hispanic origin for the United States, each state, the District of Columbia, and larger cities and towns. Webpage links to the report and to related data.
- Emergency and Transitional Shelter Population: 2010The Census Bureau isn't able to collect data on the homeless. Data are gathered on the population of emergency and transitional shelters. This report covers the nation, regions, and states and includes breakdowns by sex and age groups.
Race
- Measuring Race And Ethnicity Across The Decades: 1790-2010Information about shifts that have occurred in the way the Census Bureau classifies race and ethnicity over the decades.
Random Samplings
Loading ...