Databases for Climatology
- Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowContains records drawn from the world's literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography, and environmental sciences. Summaries from over 600 journal titles, as well as conference proceedings, books, technical reports and other monographs, are included.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowTo focus your search results, make use of the Web of Science Categories filters (e.g., Meteorology Atmospheric Sciences; Geography)
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowUse Topic Finder to visualize connections between search terms and topics, or the Subject Index to find articles tagged with specific subject terms. Search with terms such as climate, climatology, or climate research.
Databases for Assessing Impact of Climate Change
- AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Provides millions of citations relating to the field of agriculture. Citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports. (Coverage: 1970 --)
- CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new windowBibliographic database of research on agriculture in the broadest sense. Subjects include Agriculture, Environment, Veterinary sciences, Plant sciences, Mycology & parasitology, Food science, Human health, & Nutrition.
- Agricultural and Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Includes AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS). Provides full-text titles from around the world.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Covers public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information. Print and electronic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration and legislation. Business topics are covered, with emphasis on economic factors, industry surveys, business-societal interactions and similar issues, rather than details of business operations. (Coverage: 1915 --)
- Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Large index to literature about wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians.
Climate Change in Delaware
- Sea Level Rise and Delaware's WetlandsOver the past century, Delaware has experienced a sea level rise of more than one foot. According to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), the rate of sea level rise will increase over the next century. This will lead to the loss of coastal wetlands in Delaware.
- Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative | RGGIThe Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative (RGGI) is the first market-based regulatory program in the United States to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. Ten Northeastern and Mid-Atlantic states have capped and will reduce CO2 emissions from the power sector 10 percent by 2018.
- Delaware Division of Climate, Coastal, & Energy | DNRECWith respect to climate, the goal is to mitigate climate change and prepare Delaware's infrastructure, natural resources, economy, and people for its effects.
Resources for Datasets
- Finding data | NCEI NOAANCEI environmental data spans a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines, archive methods, naming conventions, file formats, and governance strategies. Discovery Tools include NOAA OneStop and NCEI Data Access.
- NCEI Data AccessFree access to NCEI's archive of global coastal, oceanographic, geophysical, climate, and historical weather data.
- NOAA OneStopA data search platform - geophysical, oceans, coastal, weather and climate data discovery all in one place.
- Climate Data One (CDO) | NOAAProvides free access to NCDC's archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information. These data include quality controlled daily, monthly, seasonal, and yearly measurements of temperature, precipitation, wind, and degree days as well as radar data and 30-year Climate Normals.
- ESA Climate Data DashboardFrom the European Space Agency Climate Change Initiative (CCI)
- Climate Topic | Data.govYou can currently find data and resources related to coastal flooding, food resilience, water, ecosystem vulnerability, human health, energy infrastructure, transportation, and the Arctic region.
- Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (SEDAC) | NASAFocusing on human interactions in the environment, SEDAC has as its mission to develop and operate applications that support the integration of socioeconomic and earth science data. Find data sets and collections, maps and other resources related to agriculture, climate, marine and coastal, sustainability and other themes.
- Environment data | OECDA key source for environmental data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Explore the Key Topics which include climate change and the ocean among many more.
- USGS Geo Data PortalProvides access to numerous datasets, including gridded data for climate and land use
Other resources
- Climate CentralAs a policy-neutral 501(c)(3) nonprofit group of scientists and communicators, Climate Central uses science, big data, and technology to generate thousands of local storylines and compelling visuals that make climate change personal and show what can be done about it.
- The Discovery of Global Warming - A HistoryDiscovery of Global Warming site created by Spencer Weart with initial support from the American Institute of Physics, the National Science Foundation and the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.
Skeptics
- CO2 ScienceMagazine from the Center for the Study of Carbon Dioxide and Global Change containing editorials on topics of current concern and mini-reviews of recently published peer-reviewed scientific journal articles, books, and other educational materials.
- SePP Home PageThe Science and Environmental Policy Project (SEPP) examines questionable governmental policies, no matter how popular, to determine if policies are based on the rigorous application of the scientific method and not just a passing fad.
- New Zealand Climate ScienceThe Coalition is committed to ensuring that New Zealanders receive balanced scientific opinions that reflect the truth about climate change and the exaggerated claims that have been made about anthropogenic global warming.
Agencies, Institutes, Organizations
- Climate Change Research | U.S. EPAEPA research improves knowledge of the impacts of climate change on human health and the environment. The scientific information and tools can be used by communities to effectively and sustainably manage the impacts from a changing world.
- Digital Coast | NOAAWebsite provides coastal data (from economic data to satellite imagery), and contains visualization tools, predictive tools, and tools that make data easier to find and use. Content comes from many sources, all of which are vetted by NOAA.
- A Paleo Perspective on Global Warming (NOAA)A comprehensive look at the instrumental and paleoclimatic data that tells us how the Earth's temperature has changed.
- Global Warming & Climate Change-Science Tracer BulletNOTE: The Library of Congress Science Tracer Bullet Series ceased publication in 2013. The content in these research guides is no longer being updated and links may not function; however, the resources listed in these guides may be useful as background documents to supplement current information or to provide a historical perspective on science and technology subjects.
- Global Warming Climate Hot MapWebsite of the Union of Concerned Scientists
- IPCC - Intergovernmental Panel on Climate ChangeThe IPCC provides regular assessments of the scientific basis of climate change, its impacts and future risks, and options for adaptation and mitigation.
- OECD Environment Directorate - Climate ChangeTheir work focuses on the environmental, economic, financial and social dimensions that are critical to the creation of low-emissions, climate-resilient development pathways. Policy areas include climate action and the economy; climate resilience and adaptation; cities and climate change; and more.
- Max-Planck-Institut für MeteorologieThe Max Planck Institute for Meteorology (MPI-M) is an internationally renowned institute for climate research. Its mission is to understand Earth's changing climate.
- World Meteorological OrganizationA specialized agency of the United Nations.
Tornadoes & Hurricanes
- US Tornado Climatology | NOAASite offers U.S. Tornadoes data and statistics. Find time series data, historical records and trends, and information about the deadliest tornados, and Tornado Alley. Climatology tab includes special reports and pdf file of "The Enhanced Fujita Tornado Scale"
- NSSL Research: TornadoesThe National Severe Storms Laboratory's tornado research targets ways to better understand how they form, and use that understanding to improve tornado forecasts and warnings to help save lives.
- Hurricane Research Division | NOAA AOMLThe Hurricane Research Division of the Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory (AOML) collects observations, assimilates data, and streamlines modeling and prediction sciences.
- Storm Prediction Center | NOAA NWSThe Storm Prediction Center (SPC) is part of the National Weather Service (NWS) and the National Centers for Environmental Prediction (NCEP). Their mission is to provide timely and accurate forecasts and watches for severe thunderstorms and tornadoes over the contiguous United States. The SPC also monitors hazardous winter weather and fire weather events across the U.S. and issues specific products for those hazards.
- Calculating the Cost of Weather and Climate DisastersSeven things to know about NCEI's US billion-dollar disasters data (Published: Oct. 6, 2017; Updated date: Jan. 8, 2021)