Databases for Geographers
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowGeoRef covers the world’s literature in geology and the geosciences. GeoRef, a product of the American Geological Institute, covers the world’s literature in geology and the geosciences, including books, maps, reports, most U.S. Geological Survey publications, and U.S. and Canadian master’s theses and doctoral dissertations.
- Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowContains records drawn from the world's literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography, and environmental sciences. Summaries from over 600 journal titles, as well as conference proceedings, books, technical reports and other monographs, are included.
- Agricultural and Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to the scholarly literature concerning environmental sciences and pollution management, including links to full-text electronic journal articles.
- The COLD DatabaseA comprehensive bibliography of Cold Regions comprised of the following: The USPA Permafrost Alert Program (2011 - Present), Bibliography on Cold Regions Science and Technology (1900-2011), and Antarctic Bibliography (1950-2011)
General Databases for Scientists and Social Scientists
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN, as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. (Coverage: 1980 --)
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science contains Science Citation Index. Researchers might also want to use Journal Citation Reports.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
A citation and abstracting database covering thousands of active titles, primarily peer-reviewed journals. Also includes eBooks, major reference works and graduate level textbooks. Emphasis on social sciences, arts and humanities, but also includes science, technology and medicine. Includes thousands of Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, and patents. (Coverage: Primarily 1970-present. Some pre-1970 records going back to 1788)
- Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new windowJournal Citation Reports can show you the most frequently cited journals in a field, highest impact journals in a field largest journals in a field. Citation and article counts are important indicators of how frequently current researchers are using individual journals.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowPolicyMap enables users to create maps and provides access to more than 37,000 indicators related to demographics, income/spending, housing, lending, quality of life, economy, education, health, jobs, crime, and education. The data is available across a wide range of geographies (address, block groups, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) in addition to school districts, HUD neighborhoods, and political boundaries.