Research Guides: Foundations and Grants: Home

Welcome to the Candid's Funding Information Network!

The University of Delaware Library is a partner of the Candid's Funding Information Network, which has more than 400 locations throughout the world. As a network partner, we provide databases and other materials designed to assist organizations in locating potential funding sources. Candid, whose central office is located in New York City, has an excellent website Candid Learning that provides a good orientation to its products and services and serves as a gateway to Internet resources related to foundations and grants.

Grants Databases

Before approaching a funding agency, make sure you understand its funding priorities. Use databases to identify funders who are interested in giving to causes similar to yours and also to your geographic area. Once you've identified several funders, study them more carefully by looking at their websites, their publications, newspaper articles, and their tax returns.

Pivot-RP This link opens in a new window
An international resource for information on research funding in all disciplines. The database searches select federal and state grants, and some private foundation funding. Professional associations and public charities that provide grants are also included. The content is similar to that of COS Funding Opportunities, which was phased out at the end of 2011.
To create an account:
- Click on Create Account.
- Choose “use institutional credentials” for SSO login.
- Select University of Delaware from the Institution pull-down menu. Fill in all required fields to validate your name and email address.
- To activate your account, wait for an email from Pivot-RP to validate your account. Check your spam folder if you do not see the email in your inbox.
- Claim your Profile: Upon logging in for the first time, Pivot-RP may prompt you to claim your profile or create a profile. While this is optional, it is a good idea to do so to get automated funding recommendations based on your research interests, publications, and grants.
- Claiming a profile also allows you to be discovered by potential collaborators.
Foundation Directory - Professional This link opens in a new window
FDO is a fundraising database that gives grantseekers unprecedented access to the largest amount of clean and coded philanthropic data that currently exists. By combining exhaustive data with intuitive search functionality and informative data visualizations, FDO makes fundraising quick and efficient.
The Philanthropy Classification System provides lists and visualizations of hierarchically arranged terms.

Grants.gov
A common website for all federal grant opportunities. The site is searchable by keyword, federal funding agency, date, or Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance number.
Delaware Database for Funding Resilient Communities | Institute for Public Administration at the University of Delaware
A database of financial assistance programs that support the implementation of resiliency-building plans and projects in Delaware.
GuideStar
Search free information on nonprofits using GuideStar Search

Collaborating with the Library, Museums and Press

Are you interested in collaborating with the Library, Museums and Press on a grant proposal? Please consult these guidelines and steps for collaboration.

Campus Resources

Other departments and units on campus that are related to grants and funding opportunities: