Research Guides: Foundations and Grants: Accessing UD Resources as a Community Member

Accessing UD Resources as a Community Member

The University of Delaware Libraries, Museum and Press provide access to two databases for finding grant funding: Foundation Directory and Pivot-RP.

Anyone is welcome to visit the Morris Library to access these databases using the public computers.

To prepare for your visit to Morris Library:

Address is 181 South College Ave., Newark, DE 19717
Check our hours at https://library.udel.edu/hours/
Metered parking is available in nearby University lots https://library.udel.edu/about/directions-and-maps/parking/
Bring a photo ID with you and check in at the security desk at the library entrance
Bring a USB drive or email the results from your database search. Printing is not available for public users.

You’ll find public computers in the Information Room at the library entrance. You do not need to sign onto the computers to use them. Just open a browser window, click on the DATABASES link under the search box on the library’s website, and then select LOG IN AS A PUBLIC USER. Search for Foundation Directory or Pivot on the A-Z list.

For additional assistance with accessing the databases, please speak to the staff at the Help Center desk. If you have any other questions, please contact Alison Wessel, Social Sciences Librarian, at awessel@udel.edu.

Foundation Directory

Foundation Directory - Professional
The Philanthropy Classification System provides lists and visualizations of hierarchically arranged terms.

Use Foundation Directory to find funders that align with your organization’s mission. Foundation Directory uses 990 tax forms to compile profiles of foundations and their giving histories.

The company that owns Foundation Directory, Candid, has excellent free learning opportunities about finding and writing grants, fundraising, and more.

You can find many training opportunities on their main page: https://learning.candid.org/ as well as their YouTube channel https://www.youtube.com/@CandidDotOrg.

Introduction to Foundation Directory
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pAoZlTLV6pU
Introduction to Finding Grants https://learning.candid.org/introduction-to-finding-grants/185013/scorm/2inj6sqwgvmhf
Introduction to Proposal Writing https://learning.candid.org/introduction-to-proposal-writing/293199/scorm/3e2h4obh7o1k9

Candid has many other free resources for nonprofits.

A collection of sample documents from winning grant proposals https://learning.candid.org/resources/sample-documents/
Nonprofit startup resources https://learning.candid.org/resources/nonprofit-startup-resources/

Pivot-RP

Pivot-RP
To create an account:
- Click on Create Account.
- Choose “use institutional credentials” for SSO login.
- Select University of Delaware from the Institution pull-down menu. Fill in all required fields to validate your name and email address.
- To activate your account, wait for an email from Pivot-RP to validate your account. Check your spam folder if you do not see the email in your inbox.
- Claim your Profile: Upon logging in for the first time, Pivot-RP may prompt you to claim your profile or create a profile. While this is optional, it is a good idea to do so to get automated funding recommendations based on your research interests, publications, and grants.
- Claiming a profile also allows you to be discovered by potential collaborators.

Pivot-RP is a collection of open grant opportunities from federal and local government, foundations, corporations, academic institutions, and professional associations.

Use the advanced search to limit by funder type, applicant type, applicant and activity location, funding type, and keyword.

All search results include a website with information about the grant and how to apply.

To learn more about searching in Pivot-RP, please visit their YouTube channel https://www.youtube.com/user/ProQuestPivot