Books and E-Books
Books are important sources of basic information on a topic, providing necessary definitions, background information, and statistics. They can provide a foundation for research which can be supplemented by more current information from journal articles. To locate books, use DELCAT, the Library catalog.
The Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to arrange books and print journals on the shelves. This system uses letters and numbers to complete the Call Number. A call number is like an address: it tells us where the book is located in the library.
To find information on the following subjects see the designated call numbers:
| R - Medicine, General | RA - Public Aspects of Medicine | RB - Pathology |
| RC - Internal Medicine | RD - Surgery | RE - Ophthalmology |
| RF - Otorhinolaryngology (ENT) | RG - Gynecology & Obstetrics | RJ - Pediatrics |
| RK - Dentistry | RL - Dermatology | RM - Therapeutics, Pharmacology |
| RS - Pharmacy | RT - Nursing | RV - Botanic, Thomsonian, and eclectic medicine |
| RX - Homeopathy | RZ - Other systems of medicine |
Additional medical call number subclassifications from the Library of Congress.
Subject terms and keywords that may be of use when searching DELCAT for information on nursing are:
| Evidence-based nursing | nursing assessment |
| Models, nursing | Health attitudes |
| Health behavior | Medical care |
| Facilities, health |
The Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to arrange books and print journals on the shelves. This system uses letters and numbers to complete the Call Number. A call number is like an address: it tells us where the book is located in the library.
To find information on the following subjects see the designated call numbers:
| Subject | Call Number Range |
| Nursing (General) | RT1 - RT120 |
| Specialties in Nursing | RT89-RT120 |
| Surgical Nursing | RD99 - RD99.35 |
| Ophthalmic Nursing | RE88 |
| Pediatric Nursing | RJ245 - RJ247 |
E-Books
- EBSCO eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subjects. Titles are from a variety of publishers.
- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with tools to find, use, and manage the information.
- Springer E-Books This link opens in a new window
An integrated platform for books, journals, and other materials published by Springer, a major publisher of science and social sciences books and journals. The UD Library has acquired Springer eBooks in most subject areas. (Coverage: 2005 --)
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Streaming video series that illustrates: Physical Examination: Head-to-toe and systems based physical exam videos with an emphasis on clinical accuracy and patient care.
Communication and Interpersonal Skills: Fundamental interpersonal and communication techniques often demonstrated in clinical encounters.
Subject terms and keywords that may be of use when searching DELCAT for information on kinesiology, physiology, biomechanics, and exercise science are:
| sport, biomechanics | rehabilitation, robotics |
| anatomy | clinical, biomechanics |
| neurophysiology | sport, injuries |
| biomechanics, modeling | motor control, behavior |
| exercise, physiology | human, locomotion |
The Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to arrange books and print journals on the shelves. This system uses letters and numbers to complete the Call Number. A call number is like an address: it tells us where the book is located in the library.
To find information on the following subjects see the designated call numbers:
| Subject | Call Number Ranges |
| Recreation, Leisure | GV 1- GV1860 |
| Physical Education and Training | GV 201 - GV 555 |
| Sports | GV 557 - GV 1198 |
| Human Anatomy | QM 1 - QM 169 |
| Physiology | QP 1 - QP 981 |
| Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy | RC 735 - RC 953.8 |
| Sports Medicine | RC 1200 - 1245 |
E-Books
- LWW Health Library - Physical Therapy This link opens in a new window
Anatomy and Physical Therapy textbooks, videos, images, lectures
- EBSCO eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subjects. Titles are from a variety of publishers.
- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with tools to find, use, and manage the information.
- Springer E-Books This link opens in a new window
An integrated platform for books, journals, and other materials published by Springer, a major publisher of science and social sciences books and journals. The UD Library has acquired Springer eBooks in most subject areas. (Coverage: 2005 --)
Subject terms and keywords that may be of use when searching DELCAT for information on epidemiology are:
| Epidemiology | Pandemic |
| public health | health policy |
| health promotion | community health |
The Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to arrange books and print journals on the shelves. This system uses letters and numbers to complete the Call Number. A call number is like an address: it tells us where the book is located in the library.
To find information on the following subjects see the designated call numbers:
| Subject | Call number range |
| Public Aspects of Medicine (General) | RA648.5-767 |
| Public Health, Hygiene, Preventive Medicine | RA 421 - 790.95 |
| Epidemics. Epidemiology. Quarantine. Disinfection | RA648.5-767 |
| Medical Geography, Climatology, Meteorology | RA 791 - 954 |
| Medical Centers, Hospitals, Dispensaries, Clinics | RA 960 - 1000.5 |
| Forensic Medicine, Medical Jurisprudence, Legal Medicine | RA 1001 - 1171 |
| Toxicology, Poisons | RA 1190 - 1270 |
E-Books
- EBSCO eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subjects. Titles are from a variety of publishers.
- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with tools to find, use, and manage the information.
- Springer E-Books This link opens in a new window
An integrated platform for books, journals, and other materials published by Springer, a major publisher of science and social sciences books and journals. The UD Library has acquired Springer eBooks in most subject areas. (Coverage: 2005 --)
Subject terms and keywords that may be of use when searching DELCAT for information on medical lab science for those in the Medical and Molecular Sciences Department:
| diagnostic imaging | medical laboratory technology |
| diagnosis, ultrasound | clinical hematology |
| biotechnology, methods | biomedical, technology |
| human reproductive technology | medical technology |
| diagnosis, laboratory | virology |
The Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to arrange books and print journals on the shelves. This system uses letters and numbers to complete the Call Number. A call number is like an address: it tells us where the book is located in the library.
To find information on the following subjects see the designated call numbers:
| Subject | Call Number Range |
| Immunology | QR180-189.5 |
| Virology | QR355-502 |
| Examination. Diagnosis Including radiography |
RC71-78.7 |
| Pathology | RB1-214 |
E-Books
- EBSCO eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subjects. Titles are from a variety of publishers.
- Knovel This link opens in a new window
An extensive online library of full-text content from leading publishers and societies. Covers engineering, chemistry, biochemistry, earth and environmental sciences, and more.
- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with tools to find, use, and manage the information.
- Springer E-Books This link opens in a new window
An integrated platform for books, journals, and other materials published by Springer, a major publisher of science and social sciences books and journals. The UD Library has acquired Springer eBooks in most subject areas. (Coverage: 2005 --)
Subject terms and keywords that may be of use when searching DELCAT for information on nutrition and behavior health:
| nutritional diseases | obesity, nutrition |
| diet therapy, children | eating disorders |
| vitamin therapy | disease, digestive system |
| metabolic diseases | cookbooks |
| nutrition, food supply | weight management |
| health behavior | Health counseling |
The Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to arrange books and print journals on the shelves. This system uses letters and numbers to complete the Call Number. A call number is like an address: it tells us where the book is located in the library.
To find information on the following subjects see the designated call numbers:
| Subject | Call number Range |
| Nutrition & Metabolism | QP141-185.3 |
| Minerals | QP531-535 |
| Protein & Amino Acids | QP551-562 |
| Carbohydrates | QP701-702 |
| Lipids | 751-752 |
| Vitamins | QP771-772 |
| Nutrition and metabolic diseases | RC620-632 |
| Diet therapy for infants and children | RJ53.D53 |
| Diet therapy and special diets | RM214-267 |
| Nutrition, foods, and food supply | TX341-641 |
E-Books
- Nutrition Care Manual This link opens in a new window
Nutrition information and clinical tools for dietitians, dietetic technicians, and other health care professionals. 5 concurrent users.
- Pediatric Nutrition Care Manual This link opens in a new window
Research-based nutrition information and clinical tools for dietitians, dietetic technicians, and other health care professionals that provide pediatric care. Updated regularly.
- EBSCO eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subjects. Titles are from a variety of publishers.
- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with tools to find, use, and manage the information.
- Springer E-Books This link opens in a new window
An integrated platform for books, journals, and other materials published by Springer, a major publisher of science and social sciences books and journals. The UD Library has acquired Springer eBooks in most subject areas. (Coverage: 2005 --)
Subject terms and keywords that may be of use when searching DELCAT for information:
| Communication disorders | Aphasia |
| speech disorders | audiology |
| Otorhinolaryngology | language disorders |
| speech pathology | linguistics |
The Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to arrange books and print journals on the shelves. This system uses letters and numbers to complete the Call Number. A call number is like an address: it tells us where the book is located in the library.
To find information on the following subjects see the designated call numbers:
| Subject | Call Number Range |
| Communication Disorders | RC423-429, RC496.C67, RJ496.C67 |
| Autism | RC553.A88, RJ506.A9 (Autism in Children) |
| Stuttering | RC424.5 |
| Speech & Language Disorders | RC423-429 |
| Aphasia | RC425 |
| Audiology | RF286-320 |
| Otorhinolaryngology | RF510-540 |
E-Books
- EBSCO eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subjects. Titles are from a variety of publishers.
- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with tools to find, use, and manage the information.
- Springer E-Books This link opens in a new window
An integrated platform for books, journals, and other materials published by Springer, a major publisher of science and social sciences books and journals. The UD Library has acquired Springer eBooks in most subject areas. (Coverage: 2005 --)
Subject terms and keywords that may be of use when searching DELCAT for information on physical therapy are:
| human mechanics | physical education, training |
| physical fitness | sports injuries, rehabilitation |
| sports, psychology | exercise therapy |
| muscle strength | biomechanics, movement |
| human anatomy | human physiology |
The Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to arrange books and print journals on the shelves. This system uses letters and numbers to complete the Call Number. A call number is like an address: it tells us where the book is located in the library.
To find information on the following subjects see the designated call numbers:
| Subject | Call Number Range |
| Physical Fitness Testing | GV 435 - GV 436 |
| Anatomy (muscle-skeletal) | QM 100 - QM 105 |
| Physiology/Kinesiology | QP 301 - QP 341 |
| Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy | RC 735 - RC 953.8 |
| Orthopedics | RD 680 - RD 795 |
| Physical Medicine | RM 695 - RM 950 |
| Chiropractic | RZ 201 - RZ 275 |
E-Books
- LWW Health Library - Physical Therapy This link opens in a new window
Anatomy and Physical Therapy textbooks, videos, images, lectures
- EBSCO eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subjects. Titles are from a variety of publishers.
- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with tools to find, use, and manage the information.
- Springer E-Books This link opens in a new window
An integrated platform for books, journals, and other materials published by Springer, a major publisher of science and social sciences books and journals. The UD Library has acquired Springer eBooks in most subject areas. (Coverage: 2005 --)