Contact Film & Video:
Meghann Matwichuk
Contact:
Librarian, Film & Video Collection
(302) 831-1475
(302) 831-1475
Subjects: Education & Human Development, Film Studies
Databases/Websites with Primary Sources
- Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture This link opens in a new windowBrazilian and Portuguese History and Culture is a collection of monographs and pamphlets which was assembled by Manoel de Oliveira Lima, a Brazilian diplomat, journalist, historian, and book collector whose career spanned Brazil’s transition from empire to republic. Brazilian history and literature was the central focus of his writing and collecting. The collection was donated to Catholic University of America in 1920. It contains about 40,000 items.
- Colonial Caribbean This link opens in a new windowColonial Caribbean is a vast collection of primary source documentation exploring life under British colonial rule. Unique primary sources cover British governance of 25 territories in the Caribbean from 1624-1872, meeting teaching and research needs across a wide variety of themes, from settlement and colonial rivalries in the region, to the economics of the plantation systems and the impact of slavery, to crime and punishment and the everyday lives of the people that called the islands home.
- Sabin Americana This link opens in a new windowBased on Joseph Sabin’s landmark bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900’s. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
- World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean This link opens in a new windowWorld Scholar: Latin American & the Caribbean is a multidisciplinary database designed to meet the needs of researchers, postgraduates, and undergraduates with interests in regional studies, history, political science, anthropology, sociology, economics, and international relations. It includes a comprehensive range of content for the region, providing research across the humanities both for current issues and events in Latin America and the Caribbean as well as for historical perspective back to the colonial period.
- Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new windowThe Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is an open access collection of more than 29 million images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.
- Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean EphemeraThe Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera is a steadily growing repository containing a previously unavailable subset of Princeton’s Latin American Ephemera Collection as well as newly acquired materials being digitized and added on an ongoing basis.
- Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC)The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library of resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean.
- Digital Library of the Iberoamerican HeritageFree access to the Ibero-American digital cultural heritage. Please note: this website was created in Spanish. Choose Google translate to change to English.
- EuroDocs- European HistoryEuroDocs is a great resource that pulls together primary sources on European History. This site is broken down by country, making it extremely helpful if you are looking for smaller countries in Europe.
- Latin American Network Information CenterPlease note: There might be some broken links listed on this website.
- Latin American PamphletsScarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries that are located in Harvard's Widener Library.
- Library of Congress: Hispanic Reading RoomThe Hispanic Reading Room is the primary access point for research related to the Caribbean, Latin America, Spain and Portugal; the indigenous cultures of those areas; and peoples throughout the world historically influenced by Luso-Hispanic heritage, including Latinos in the U.S. and peoples of Portuguese or Spanish heritage in Africa, Asia, and Oceania.
- Mexican Digital Library ACBe sure to switch the webpage to English if you do not speak Spanish.
- Salalm Iberian Studies Resource ListThis site provides links to open access digitized collections of primary sources for Latin American and Caribbean history. Searchable by country, format, and genre.
- Vanderbilt University - Latin American CollectionsProvides links to digitally available special collections.
- World Digital LibraryThe World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
- Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new windowCurrent & historical Associated Press photographs, graphics, & text materials.
- Artstor Digital Library This link opens in a new windowUD stores most of their digital visual content here, but there is access to other institution's collections.
- Docuseek Complete Collection (Docuseek platform) This link opens in a new windowThe Docuseek Complete Collection provides access to contemporary social issues documentaries in a variety of disciplines, including environmental sciences, political and social sciences, history, health, psychology, and more. In addition to Women Make Movies, the collection includes films from other high-quality distributors such as Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films, Kartemquin Films, and the National Film Board of Canada.
- Latin America in Video This link opens in a new windowOriginal language documentaries about Latin American issues.
- Getty ImagesExtensive archive of images both historical and contemporary. BE CAREFUL: If you will be using images in a publication of any sort, check the copyright beforehand!