Finding Books/E-Books
Basic Search Tips
- Place quotation marks around keyword phrases
- "trench warfare"
- "Iranian Coup"
- Capitalize Boolean logic connectors (AND, OR)
- narrative OR plot
- "American Involvement" AND World War I
- Items at UD appear first in the list of search results. Other items can be requested via InterLibrary Loan.
- Visit our DELCAT Research Guide for additional tips!
There are some e-book collections that can be found under the "Primary Sources" tab. In most cases, those books would be considered primary sources, which is why they reside there instead of on the secondary source page.
- ACLS Humanities E-Book Collection This link opens in a new windowACLS Humanities E-Book HEB is an online, fully searchable collection of more than 5,400 books of high quality in the humanities and humanistic social sciences. Frequently cited in the literature, these titles are recommended by scholars and the learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies.
- EBSCO eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowA collection of published ebooks consisting of a broad range of reference and scholarly books.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window150,000 books published in Great Britain and the colonies during the 18th century. The collection is an ongoing project based on The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC), a union list of the holdings of the British Library and 1,500 libraries worldwide. Books located here are related to the British Empire's colonial holdings.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowHathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. HathiTrust provides long-term preservation and access services to digitized content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house member institution initiatives. Items in the public domain are in full-view for everyone and items held in copyright are searchable.
- Internet Archive This link opens in a new windowThe Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. It was founded to build an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format.
Founded in 1996, the Internet Archive has an historical web collection (the Wayback Machine) of over 150 billion web pages, about 240,000 movies, over 500,000 audio items (including over 70,000 live concerts), over 1,800,000 texts, 1600 education items, and over 30,000 software items.
-
Electronic Book Collections
by Marie Seymour-Green Last Updated Sep 26, 2024 158 views this year
-
EBSCO eBooks: Downloading, Printing, and Copying
by Marie Seymour-Green Last Updated May 30, 2023 46 views this year
Browsing the stacks in Morris Library can be extremely helpful when you are looking for additional sources for your research. Most books related to Middle Eastern history can be found on the 3rd Floor of Morris Library and fall under the following Library of Congress classifications:
BP1-BP253: Islam
DS35.3-DS326: History of Islamic world, Arab and Middle Eastern countries
JQ1758-JQ1852: Political science (Middle East)
KBP: Islamic law
PJ: Arabic language, linguistics and literature
You can also "browse" the shelves virtually by searching by Call Number through DELCAT.