Historical Resources
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,800 academic journals dating back to 1954, with some coverage for titles back to the early 20th century. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events. - Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new windowAncestry Library Edition provides access to a number of genealogical and historical resources, including images of the decennial U.S. census from 1790-1930.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women’s history, history of education, and more – essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic journals in over 40 languages dating back to 1953, with some coverage for titles back to the early 20th century. - Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new windowProvides a standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. Expands and revises information provided in Historical Statistics of the United States, previously produced by the U.S. Bureau of the Census, and includes thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowProQuest Statistical Insight provides abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from hundreds of public domain and licensed sources.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowGale Primary Sources is an integrated platform that combines Gale’s digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface. This broadens and enhances the ability to discover primary source documents from multiple collections. This platform combines dozens of historical archives which include monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, maps, and photographs and covers more than 500 hundred of years of history.
- Readex AllSearch This link opens in a new windowReadex AllSearch is an integrated platform that combines all of the Library’s purchased Readex primary sources into a single cross-searchable interface. This broadens and enhances the ability to discover primary source documents from multiple collections. The single platform combines historical sources from the United States, Africa, Latin America and South Asia that include newspapers, books, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents plus more, and covers more than 400 hundred of years of history.
- Chronicling AmericaSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. This project is sponsored through the Library of Congress and the NEH.
- Immigrant Records at the National ArchivesAmong the billions of historical records housed at the National Archives throughout the country, researchers can find information relating to immigrants from the late 1700s through the early 2000s. The National Archives preserves and makes available documents created by Federal agencies in the course of their daily business.
- New York Public Library Digital CollectionsAlthough NYPL has a New York History focus, it has a rich collection on a variety of topics ranging from a local to an international focus.
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online (AVON) resides on the Alexander Street video platform and is made up of stand alone videos as well as many complete video collections or portions of collections from Alexander Street. - Associated Press Images Collection - CANCELED. ACCESS ENDED 1/1/2025. This link opens in a new windowAP Images is an electronic library containing the Associated Press’ current photos and a selection of pictures from their huge print and negative library, as well as text, graphic, and audio material.
