Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Media: Library eVideo Staff Picks

Library Staff Streaming Media Selections

photo of popcorn

The University of Delaware Library, Museums and Press provides access to streaming media services for research, instruction and recreation.  Below, Library, Museums and Press staff share some of their favorite eVideos available via those services. These resources span many genres, including feature films, documentaries and performances.  Search DELCAT (tip: use the eVideo format limiter) or explore the streaming media databases yourself and discover your own favorites!

Rear Window

Photo of Library staff Kaitlyn TanisKaitlyn Tanis, Assistant Librarian and History and Social Sciences Librarian in the Reference and Instructional Services Department, chose Rear Window, available streaming via Swank Digital Campus.

Rear Window movie poster image"Growing up, my mom would love to watch old movies with me, so naturally she showed me several Alfred Hitchcock movies. One of my favorites is Rear Window. I love the suspense that was captured throughout. Because you see everything through the eyes of Jimmy Stewart's character, you feel trapped and helpless as you watch the mystery around you. Plus, all of Hitchcock's movies revolve around strong female characters. It's now a tradition of mine to watch his movies around Halloween each year."

The Illusionist

Photo of Library staff Easten Cueva

Easten Cueva, Technology Support Specialist I in the Multimedia Collections and Services Department, chose The Illusionist, available streaming via Academic Video Online's Sony Pictures Classics 'channel'.

"There is almost no dialogue in this movie yet aIllusionist movie poster imagell of the character's struggles, emotions, and triumphs are felt. I enjoyed how the relationships between all of the characters are based on the actions of affection during a time of economic challenges."

What She Said

Photo of Library staff Meghann Matwichuk

Meghann Matwichuk, Film and Video Collection Librarian, chose What She Said: The Art of Pauline Kael, available streaming via Academic Video Online's Juno Films 'channel'.Poster image for film

"Film lovers will enjoy this unvarnished portrait of pioneering film critic Pauline Kael, whether or not they are familiar with her incisive, unapologetic takes on cinema during one the most vibrant period's of movie-making in film history."

La Haine

Photo of Library staff Tim EnglishTim English, Library Assistant III in the Special Collections and Museums, chose La Haine, available streaming from Swank Digital Campus through 8/31/21.

"Set in Paris in the '90s, La Haine shows us French society in flux, struggling to accept immigrantPoster image with the tagline in French, "Jusqu'ici tout va bien..."  (English translation:  "So far, so good…")s while remaining distinctly French. It grapples with issues like racial discord and police brutality, and reminds us that the United States isn't alone in struggling with these conflicts. A changing France is perfectly illustrated halfway through the film, as a DJ samples KRS-ONE before fading out into Edith Piaf."

Ken Burns's The Civil War

Photo of Library staff Rich Campbell

Rich Campbell, former Technology Support Specialist I in the Multimedia Collections and Services Department's Student Multimedia Design Center, chose Ken Burns's The Civil War available streaming via Academic Video Online's PBS 'channel'.

"Ken Burns has become a household Ken Burns's The Civil War movie poster imagename, and it all started 30 years ago with his compelling documentary on the Civil War.  Somehow Burns, through his use of period photos, drawings, interviews with historians and dramatically read quotes from notable figures and ordinary citizens, was able to convey to many of us what it was like to live through the war. Many other Ken Burns documentaries are also available for streaming including The War, The Vietnam War, The National Parks: America's Best Idea, and Country Music."

The Lunchbox

Photo of Library staff Kathy Cephas

Kathy Cephas, Library Assistant II in the Access Services Department, chose The Lunchbox / Dabba, available streaming via Academic Video Online's Sony Pictures Classics 'channel'.

"A case of mistaken identity starts a The Luncbox movie poster imagecorrespondence between two lonely people in Mumbai. They get to know each other through notes passed in a lunchbox, delivered by a courier service. I chose this film because it reminds me of how even the smallest acts/gestures of communication can become a lifeline -- for both the sender and the receiver."

Searching for Sugar Man

undefinedSue Agent, Associate Librarian and Cataloger for the Special Collections Cataloging Unit of the Cataloging and Metadata Department, chose Searching for Sugar Man available streaming via Academic Video Online's Sony Pictures Classics 'channel'.

"Unknown in America, the singer known as Rodriguezhad a huge impact on South Africa in the 1970s and then just disappeared. This documentary captures a journalist's search to find out more about his story. The soundtrack is marvelous."

Searching for Sugar Man movie poster image

Adam's Rib

Photo of Library staff Valerie Jones

Valerie Jones, former Library Assistant III in the Multimedia Collections and Services Department's Film and Video Collection, chose Adam's Rib, available streaming via SwAdam's Rib movie poster imageank Digital Campus.

"Married lawyers are on opposite sides in a sensational trial. One fights for the rule of law, the other for women's rights. Wonderful performances by Spencer Tracy and Katharine Hepburn."

Good Bye, Lenin!

Photo of Library staff John Stevenson

John Stevenson, former Associate Librarian and Head, Multimedia Collections and Services Department, chose Good Bye, Lenin!, available streaming via Academic Video Online's Sony Pictures Classics 'channel'.

"Ever wake up to find the world totally changed and the old "normal" misGood Bye Lenin! movie poster imagesing? This film depicts a son trying to protect his heroically socialist mother from knowing that her country disappeared after the Berlin Wall came down."

Wag the Dog

Photo of Library staff Kris RaserKris Raser, Digital Content Specialist and Project Manager in the Reference and Instructional Services Department, chose Wag the Dog, available streaming via Swank Digital Campus.

Wag the Dog movie poster image

"I remember this being a telling film when I first watched it in my early 20's. A humorous take on the ability for 'spin doctors' to distract the public from political scandal or embarrassment, this now seems a prescient take on how splintered and untrusted 'the media' is by many in our current time. Worth another viewing and comparison to the current social media landscape, far-right views on media outlets in general, and our current political landscape."

Orlando

undefined Aimee Gee, Senior Assistant Librarian and English and American Literature Librarian, Reference and Instructional Services Department, chose Orlando, available streaming via Academic Video Online's Sony Pictures Classics 'channel'. 

undefined "I'm a fan of director Sally Potter's eccentric body of work, and this striking adaptation of Virginia Woolf's Orlando is her best known film for good reason. While the philosophical contemplation of sexuality, gender, and immortality offer food for thought, the lavish sets and costumes and Tilda Swinton's arch performance are a feast for the senses."  

Arrival

Photo of Library staff Amanda McCollom

Amanda McCollom, Senior Assistant Librarian and Multimedia Literacy Librarian in the Reference and Instructional Services Department, chose Arrival, available streaming via Swank Digital Campus.

"When watching this film, I was particularly struck by the sound design and the score. At times, it iArrival movie poster images unsettling and ethereal but it also resonates emotionally and builds upon the themes of communication and connection that underscore the film. This is not your typical sci-fi thriller, but the way the film plays with time will keep you on your toes!"

Tim's Vermeer

Photo of Library staff Mike Gates

Mike Gates, Technology Support Specialist I in the Multimedia Collections and Services Department, chose Tim’s Vermeer, available streaming via Academic Video Online's Sony Pictures Classics 'channel'.

"A Texas inventor experiments with creatingTim's Vermeer movie poster image contraptions that help to enable him to paint photo-realistic paintings in effort to emulate the style of Dutch master painter Johannes Vermeer. While we can not definitively say if Vermeer used any tools like the ones used in this documentary to complete his paintings; the research and testing of these tools is still fascinating and entertaining to see used."

The Fog of War

Photo of Library staff Alex GalarzaAlex Galarza, former Senior Assistant Librarian and Digital Scholarship Librarian, Digital Scholarship and Publishing Services, chose The Fog of War: Eleven Lessons from the Life of Robert S. McNamara, available streaming via Academic VidThe Fog of War DVD cover imageeo Online's Sony Pictures Classics 'channel'.

"Winner of the 2003 Academy Award for best documentary, this film is about Robert McNamara and his reflections and regrets about his time as Secretary of Defense during the Cold War. Many viewers fixate on McNamara's raw confessions of his sins during the Vietnam War, but it is also very useful for illuminating logics of empire and developmentalism during the 20th century."