Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Film, Television, & Radio
AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials (Duke Libraries)
Thousands of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s.
Archive of American Television
The Archive has collected hundreds of in-depth video interviews with television legends and pioneers. These television history interviews can be browsed by person, show, topic or profession.
BBC News YouTube Channel
British Broadcasting Corporation content, including short clips on current events, documentaries, and 360° Video.
CBC Digital Archives
The site offers access to over 70 years of Canadian Broadcasting Corporation programming. Supported and funded by the Canadian Culture Online program (Department of Canadian Heritage), it contains thousands of historic radio and television clips as well as full-length programming featuring notable personalities such as Joni Mitchell, Leonard Cohen, Malcolm X, Woody Allen, and Glenn Gould.
The Mike Wallace Interview Digitization Project
Originally acquired by the University of Texas as a donation by Mike Wallace in the early 1960’s, this collection contains 16mm kinescope film recordings of over 60 interviews. Now keyword searchable, this rich-media database will be continually updated and enhanced.
This site, managed by Fandango and hosted via YouTube, indexes licensed movie clips that can be viewed, shared via social networking sites, and embedded into web content.
Moving Image Archive
The purpose of the MIA is to offer permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. The site includes texts, audio, moving images, software, as well as archived web pages. Of particular interest to film researchers is the Prelinger Archives, which feature educational / ephemeral films from earlier eras that often provide a unique window to the viewpoints and common attitudes of their time.
Radio Days: A Radio History
This is a unique web resource for users interested in capturing early sound bites from radio shows in the 1940s through the 1960s. It is dubbed as a source “for the history of nostalgic and old time radio series and news.”