The Library welcomes suggestions for books, journals, videos and other material. Please use the Recommendation for Purchase form to send your suggestions.
What if UD doesn't have a book or an article?
If UD does not have an item, you can request material (i.e. a chapter, an entire monograph, an article, microfilm reels) from InterLibrary Loan by clicking the "Get It" button in a database or "Request through InterLibrary Loan" in DELCAT under the Access section. For further instructions, click on the link below:
A Companion to Museum Studies captures the multidisciplinary approach to the study of the development, roles, and significance of museums in contemporary society. Collects first-rate original essays by leading figures from a range of disciplines and theoretical stances, including anthropology, art history, history, literature, sociology, cultural studies, and museum studies Examines the complexity of the museum from cultural, political, curatorial, historical and representational perspectives Covers traditional subjects, such as space, display, buildings, objects and collecting, and more contemporary challenges such as visiting, commerce, community and experimental exhibition forms
Museum Studies: An Anthology of Contexts provides a comprehensive interdisciplinary collection of approaches to museums and their relation to history, culture, philosophy and their adoring or combative publics. Brings together for the first time a wide array of texts that mix contemporary analysis with historical documentation Includes five sections that highlight central themes in museum studies: issue-oriented contexts in museology; states of "nature"; the status of nations; history, memory and other locations; and arts, crafts and visitors Addresses the development of museums, the role of the museum in society, and issues central to contemporary museum studies Opens with an introductory essay that situates museum studies in a truly interdisciplinary context and includes an opening essay for each section that guides the reader through the selections Includes a bibliography and list of resources devoted to museum studies that makes the volume an authoritative guide on the subject
Oxford Bibliographies provides a seamless pathway to most accurate and reliable resources for a variety of academic topics. Written and reviewed by academic experts, each article is an authoritative guide to current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations.
Credo Reference contains millions of full-text, authoritative articles from hundreds of reference books covering all major academic areas. It is an excellent place to start when learning the basics of any topic and will help to focus your topic, find keywords and people, and discover more in-depth books and articles.
Partial Open Access. Partnering with academic & research institutions, HathiTrust (pronounced hah tee) provides access to millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Typically, books in the public domain (no longer under copyright) can be viewed in full by all users.
Copyrighted items are available for full-text search in the HathiTrust Digital Library and can be helpful in the creation of a bibliography.
Items in the public domain or available through Creative Commons licensing are marked “Full view” in the online catalog at https://www.hathitrust.org.
Because the University of Delaware is a HathiTrust member, you may log in to HathiTrust using your UDelNet ID & download full PDFs of "Full View" items.
The Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. It was founded to build an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format.
Founded in 1996, the Internet Archive has an historical web collection (the Wayback Machine) of over 150 billion web pages, about 240,000 movies, over 500,000 audio items (including over 70,000 live concerts), over 1,800,000 texts, 1600 education items, and over 30,000 software items.