Public Policy & Administration

Contains thousdand of law-related journals on a variety of subjects, all dating back to inception with over 90% available through the current issue or volume. Subject related collections are often curated and made available.

Approximately half of the items in the HSDL are openly searchable and available to the public, with no account or authorization necessary.  This public collection includes items such as:

• U.S. Policy and Strategy Documents related to homeland security: General U.S. Policy Documents, National Strategies, Executive Orders and Presidential Directives, and Key Legislation
• Congressional Hearings and Legislation
• CRS Reports & Issue Briefs
• GAO Reports & Testimony
• Theses & Research Reports from U.S. federal academic institutions, particularly the Naval Postgraduate School
• Research Tools such as grants, statistics, and books and journals (the HSDL does not collect commercially published and print materials, we do maintain a list of publishers and sources)
• Thousands of additional resources released by U.S. federal government agencies and organizations
  
   

Vendor Lyrasis. Publisher LexisNexis.

Note: After using Readex AllSearch to discover relevant documents across a range of collections, some users may find it effective to transition their research to the specific Readex collection(s) in which such documents are found. These more focused collections are designed for deeper research of particular content types.

The U.S. Congressional Serial Set is bound by session of Congress. It began publication with the 15th Congress, 1st Session (1817). Documents before 1817 are found in the American State Papers, which can be accessed via the A-Z Databases page. The Serial Set does not include Congressional hearings and debates.

House and Senate Reports are usually from congressional committees dealing with proposed legislation and issues under investigation. They include all other papers ordered printed by the House or Senate. Documents cover a wide variety of topics and may include reports of executive departments and independent organizations, reports of special investigations made for Congress, and annual reports of non-governmental organizations. During the late 19th and early 20th centuries, Executive branch materials were also published in the Serial Set.

After 1994, GPO and the Library of Congress provide digital access to most of the continuing Serial Set materials.

It is possible to search the U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps directly.

This collection can also be searched on Readex AllSearch, an integrated platform that combines Readex’s primary sources into a single cross-searchable interface.

Includes:

• Current and archival coverage of newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, wires, and trade journals.
• Company Investigator, an authoritative source for researching and gaining insight on more than 30 million public and private companies.
• Topical categories to refine searches and obtain more precise results.
• Expert analysis from hundreds of law reviews and journals, encyclopedias, and treatises.
• Full-text legislation, regulations, and court decisions.
• Integrated research tools, such as template searching, headnotes, case synopses, West Key Number System®, KeyCite®, and hypertext linking to related documents.

Key areas include: diplomacy and international relations, energy, environment and development, international economics, trade and business, international and national politics, international security and law, and global health security.
 

CIAO is divided into the following categories: working papers, conference proceedings, journals (i.e., abstracts of journal articles), books, policy briefs, economic indicators, links and resources, schedule of events, and maps and country data.