This guide is designed to assist in locating: case, regulatory, and statutory law; federal bills, laws, and regulations; legal reviews; legislative histories; news reports and public opinions; state laws and policies; scholarly articles; and statistical data.
HeinOnline: Government, Politics & Law is the world’s largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,400 scholarly journals, all of the world’s constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase. The Government, Politics & Law package offers special collections on Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law, U.S. Federal Legislative History and Women and the Law among others.
Statista is a statistics portal integrating over 80,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 18,000 sources onto a single platform. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
New York Times
The Library is continuing to promote our institutional site license to The New York Times [NYTimes.com] (https://library.udel.edu/databases/nytdigital/). This license provides University of Delaware students, staff and faculty with full online access to the NYTimes.com and NYTimes mobile apps, as well as international editions of the newspaper. The same same articles, features, and images that appear in the print edition are included in the online newspaper as well as an array of additional resources such as video, audio, graphics, blogs, interactive features and data content. Content can be saved and shared on social networks; users can subscribe to email newsletters of interest and breaking news alerts. More information is available at https://guides.lib.udel.edu/nytdigital.
PolicyMap provides access to more than 15,000 indicators related to demographics, income/spending, housing, lending, quality of life, economy, education, health, jobs, crime, and education. The data is available across a wide range of geographies (e.g., address, block groups, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) in addition to school districts, HUD neighborhoods, and political boundaries. Users are able to analyze large amounts of data and quickly displays the data through maps, tables, charts and reports.
iPOLL is a comprehensive database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in the US since 1935. Most of the major survey research organizations that have done work in the areas of social and political research in the United States are represented in iPOLL. Among them are The Gallup Organization, The Roper Organization, Louis Harris and Associates, the National Opinion Research Center at the University of Chicago, ABC News, CBS News, NBC News, the Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, USA Today, The Washington Post, and the Associated Press
Published in association with the International Studies Association (ISA), the International Studies Encyclopedia is the most comprehensive reference work of its kind for the fields of international studies and international relations. The online format brings together specially commissioned, peer-reviewed essays, written and edited by an international team of scholars and teachers and aimed at students, scholars, and practitioners. The encyclopedia is updated twice annually and enhanced by live links to archives, datasets, cases, pedagogical aids, and other relevant materials.
Conducting A Literature Review - School of Public Policy & Administration
This guide is designed to walk students through the steps involved in conducting various types of literature reviews. The document discusses the expectations at the graduate level for producing a literature review and subsequent sections outline the various types of literature reviews, as well as the differences in methodology and structure.