Finding Articles
- Chatham House Online Archive This link opens in a new windowChatham House Online Archive contains the publications and archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House), the world-leading independent international affairs policy institute founded in 1920 following the Paris Peace Conference.
- Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new windowColumbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It includes a wide range of scholarship, such as working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. Each section of CIAO is updated with new material regularly. Working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, and economic indicators are augmented every month. Links and resources, the schedule of events, and the response files are updated weekly. New journal issues and books are added as they become available
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowThe world’s largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. Includes U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional documents (such as Congressional Record and Hearings early 1900s-present), and more than 2,400 scholarly journals, all of the world’s constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources with an interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowCountry studies, forecasting publications, periodicals, socio-economic reports as well as podcasts from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation & Development. Topics covered include agriculture, developing economies, education, employment, energy, the environment, migration, social issues, & sustainable development.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
PAIS International is an index to the world's public and social policy literature in the fields of business, economics, local and federal government, political science, international relations, finance, and other social sciences. The database includes public policy literature—periodicals, books, and government documents—in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. - SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new windowA cross-disciplinary research methods tool providing full access to SAGE books, journal articles, reference works, case studies, sample datasets and videos about designing and conducting a research project, and specific research methods. Along with many other titles, it includes the full-text of SAGE’s Little Green Books and Little Blue Books.
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new windowWestlaw Campus Research is a research service that combines a breadth of news and business information with in depth law-related information.
This collection of databases is but a small sample of what UD subscribes to. For a full list of what we have, go to our "Databases" page and search for "Government, Law, & Politics" from the "Browse by Subject" list.
Disaster Studies:
Environmental:
Education:
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text and indexing/abstracting of education journals. The database covers all levels of education — from early childhood to higher education — as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. - ERIC [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC contains references with summaries from education journals and documents (i.e., books, pamphlets, conference reports, symposia, studies, tests, etc.). It consists of two files: the Resources in Education (RIE) file of document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from professional journals.
Engineering:
Public Health:
Leadership:
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world’s leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. - Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier provides full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Areas of coverage include all disciplines of business—marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. - Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Health and Wellness provides access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. This consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices for researchers of all levels. - APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It provides access to books, book chapters, journal articles, dissertations, and technical reports in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas.
Journals give you the ability to search for articles on a specific topic or event. It can be an easier way to find relevant information because you are usually not sifting through a large pool of results. If you visit the E-Journals page, you can bring up a list of all the journals with subject content in Law, Politics, & Government. You can also search for a specific journal title from the E-Journals page or in DELCAT.
You can search for individual newspaper titles via the E-Journals page found under the Research tab. This can be an easier way for you to find where specific titles "live."
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch is a comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. It is a collection of more than 700,000 full-text articles from over 200 publications. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages and more than 100,000 articles in Spanish, Ethnic NewsWatch provides a rich collection of articles, editorials, and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives often at variance with the mainstream media.
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowGlobal Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s. It featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format. U.S., Canadian, and international newspapers are included.
- New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new windowThe New York Times online includes the same articles and feature text and images that appear in the print edition, but also an array of additional resources including images, videos, audio, graphics, and data content. *In order to access this version, you must follow the directions to create an account.*
- Opinion Archives This link opens in a new windowSearch a suite of public opinion magazines including American Spectator, Commentary, Commonweal, Harpers Magazine, The Nation, The National Review, The New Republic, New York Review of Books, Orion, and Washington Monthly, and others.
- Wall Street Journal (wsj.com) This link opens in a new windowThe Wall Street Journal online includes the same articles and feature text and images that appear in the print edition, but also an array of additional resources including images, videos, audio, graphics, and data content. *You must create an account in order to access the WSJ.*
- Washington Post Online This link opens in a new windowThe Washington Post (often referred to as TWP or WaPo) covers national and global news, politics and national security, business and technology, arts and entertainment, sports, and local and regional news. Sections include a range of topical areas — education, climate and environment, science, health, immigration, and more. TWP‘s investigative journalists cover a range of issues of national and international importance, and opinion columnists focus on politics, economics, culture, international news and other topics.
- World News Connection Archive This link opens in a new windowWorld News Connection is an online news service that offers an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, including news agencies, newspapers, and radio and television stations. The information in WNC, obtained from full text and summaries of newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports, covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events.
Tips & Tricks for Searching for Articles
Finding articles within databases and journals is not the same process you would use to conduct a search in Google or an internet search engine. You cannot type in a question, but rather need to choose specific keywords and phrases to find results. These tips are similar to how you would search for material in DELCAT Discovery.
Helpful Ways to Search:
- Use quotations around a phrase to "tell" the database or journal that you want these words to remain together.
- Ex: "Public Health"
- Think of synonyms to your keywords!
- Use AND/OR to connect words, concepts, and phrases together to receive specified results.
- Ex: Racial Inequality AND Public Health
Use the Advanced Search option in databases and journals to narrow down by date, region, type of document, and more!