Finding News Articles
- Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Recent global news content, as well as archives. Content from newspapers, newswires and news sites in full-text format. Provides large collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America and Australia. (Coverage: 1980 --)
- New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times Online includes the same articles and images that appear in the print edition plus additional resources including images, videos, audio, graphics and data. Crosswords not included. Content may also be accessed via the free New York Times app. Content not available via tablet. (Coverage: Limited access to 1923-1980; Full access from 1981 to the present).
- Washington Post Online This link opens in a new window
Digital edition of The Washington Post. (Coverage: 2005 --)
- Wall Street Journal (wsj.com) This link opens in a new window
Digital edition of the Wall Street Journal. Includes the same articles and images that appear in the print edition, plus additional resources such as video, audio, graphics, and data. Available editions: U.S., Asia, Europe, India. (Coverage: 4 years ago --)
NOTE: You must login to your account once every 90 days in order for it to remain active.
Off Campus Access
You can access all of our electronic resources off campus! You'll be prompted to login through CAS, which is exactly the same as logging into your UD email. Watch this video to learn more.
Accessing Electronic Articles
When you use a library search tool to find sources, there are a few different scenarios you might encounter when trying to get full text.
- PDF Full Text or other full text link: Download the full text directly
- Get It button: Click to try to connect to electronic full text. If we do not have full text, you'll be taken to a page where you can make an Interlibrary Loan request. Watch this video to learn more about Get It.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL): If the library doesn't have a source you need, you can make an Interlibrary Loan request and we'll get it for you from another library. Watch this video to learn more about ILL.
Finding Books and Articles on Any Topic
Near the beginning of your research process, you can use these general search tools to help you find sources on any topic.
DELCAT is the online library catalog. You can find print books, e-books, articles, videos, and more. For tips on searching, watch this video or see this guide. To learn how to find a book in the library, watch this video.
- Academic OneFile
Use this database to find scholarly, news, or magazine articles on any topic. While this is a good starting point, using the subject databases listed below will help you do more specific searches and find more relevant articles.
Finding Articles with Subject Databases
Once you have a general understanding of your topic, it is helpful to use subject databases to do more specific searches and find relevant, specialized sources. You can start by browsing this list and selecting subject databases to search. Watch this video for a quick overview of how to access electronic articles through databases.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN, as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. (Coverage: 1980 --)
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly literature covering the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text for thousands of journals, covering all disciplines of business. (Coverage: Varies according to journal, some back to 1922.)
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals in communication, mass media, and other closely related fields. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (core) indexing and abstracts for over 570 journals, and selected (priority) coverage of nearly 200 more. Also includes full text for over 450 journals. (Coverage: 1915 --)
- Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database for criminal justice and criminology research. Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering all related subjects, including forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law, and investigation. (Coverage 1968 --)
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts as well as some full-text education journals. Covers all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education. Also includes a collection of videos that provide practical online teacher training that addresses the evolving landscape of education.
- Family and Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations, with abstracts, for a broad range of social science disciplines, including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to womens and gender issues. (Coverage: mid-1970s --)
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment, including content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing, allied health, and consumer health. Contains fulltext periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, videos demonstrating medical procedures and surgeries, photos, charts, news, maps, and broadcast transcripts.
(Coverage: 1980 --) - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from the 15th century to the present. Subjects include world history, military history, womens history, history of education and more. Indexes 2,300+ academic journals in over 40 languages. (Coverage: 1952 --)
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information. Print and electronic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration and legislation. Business topics are covered, with emphasis on economic factors, industry surveys, business-societal interactions and similar issues, rather than details of business operations. (Coverage: 1915 --)
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science, mental health and related disciplines. (Coverage: 1806 --)
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. (Coverage: 1952 --)
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text literature for sports and sports medicine. Provides extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health, physical therapy, exercise science and other sport studies. (Coverage: 1930 --)
Search Strategies
Using library search tools can feel very different than doing a Google search. To get the best results, you can use these strategies.
- Develop Keywords
Before you search, take time to make a list of terminology related to your topic. You can glean terms from your background research and use the 5W questions (who, what, when, where, why) to help you develop a good list. Try to think through all the facets of your topic, and be sure to add synonyms and related terms. If you're not getting the best results when you search with one term, just switch it out for another and keep exploring. - Use Search Connectors
When you construct a search in a database, you'll usually see search connectors such as "AND" and "OR." Use AND to connect two or more keywords and get results that address all of the terms. Use OR if you want to include a variety of synonyms. - Use Truncation
If you have a term with several possible endings and you want to include them all, add an asterisk. For example, searching for econom* will include results for economy, economies, economic, and economics.