Subject Librarian
Research and Engagement Department
Request a consult: https://calendly.com/alisonwessel/60min
Related Guides
For questions about government information, contact librarian Kaitlyn Tanis kltanis@udel.edu.
Ask the Library
Library Resources for Health Policy
UD librarians are ready to support you as you're here working hard. Check out some of these key resources, chat with us using the Ask the Library box, or email your subject librarian, Alison Wessel. For all of our resources, visit the library's homepage..
Search DELCAT
Recommended Databases and Websites
- Health AffairsRanked #1 among health policy and services journals.
- New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times Online includes the same articles and images that appear in the print edition plus additional resources including images, videos, audio, graphics and data. Crosswords not included. Content may also be accessed via the free New York Times app. Content not available via tablet. (Coverage: Limited access to 1923-1980; Full access from 1981 to the present). IMPORTANT: Click on “more …” for Activation, Renewal, Tips and Troubleshooting information.
- Wall Street Journal (wsj.com) This link opens in a new window
Digital edition of the Wall Street Journal. Includes the same articles and images that appear in the print edition, plus additional resources such as video, audio, graphics, and data. Available editions: U.S., Asia, Europe, India. (Coverage: 4 years ago --)
NOTE: You must login to your account once every 90 days in order for it to remain active.
- News Journal (Wilmington, DE) This link opens in a new window
Online edition of the News Journal (Wilmington, DE).
Does not include advertisements, graphic material, syndicated columns, or AP articles. Intended to include all articles written by staff, including obituaries and letters, etc., but sometimes this content is not supplied by the newspaper publisher. - Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Recent global news content, as well as archives. Content from newspapers, newswires and news sites in full-text format. Provides large collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America and Australia. (Coverage: 1980 --)
- Peterson-Kaiser Health System TrackerProvides, up-to-date information on trends, drivers and issues that impact the performance of the system. It also illustrates how the U.S. is performing relative to other countries and how different parts of the system are performing relative to one another
- Full text of the 2010 Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (Obamacare)Click open as a new tab to see the 900+ page legislation
Health
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. - MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. - CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health.
Policy
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to the world’s public and social policy literature in the fields of business, economics, local and federal government, political science, international relations, finance, and other social sciences - Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 2,300 journals and other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch and detailed company profiles for the world’s 10,000 largest companies. - ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowProQuest Congressional Publications provides comprehensive access to United States legislative information. Available content includes: bills, laws, and legislative histories, regulations published in Code of Federal Regulations or Federal Register, and committee hearings, reports, documents, etc.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR collections provide coverage of history, political science, population studies, and public policy.
Legal
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowThe world’s largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. Includes U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional documents (such as Congressional Record and Hearings early 1900s-present), and more than 2,400 scholarly journals, all of the world’s constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to legal news, company information, regulations, law reviews, case law, and other legislative information.
Statistics
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowPolicyMap enables users to create maps and provides access to more than 37,000 indicators related to demographics, income/spending, housing, lending, quality of life, economy, education, health, jobs, crime, and education. The data is available across a wide range of geographies (address, block groups, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) in addition to school districts, HUD neighborhoods, and political boundaries.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowIncludes US Federal, State, International, and Business statistics
- Statista This link opens in a new windowCategorized into over 21 market sectors, Statista provides access to relevant and quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.