Search Tools
Tools for Finding Sources on Any Topic:
- DELCAT
DELCAT is the online library catalog. You can find print books, e-books, articles, videos, and more. Use this tool for research on any topic. - Google Scholar
Use Google Scholar to help identify which disciplines are interested in studying your topic. This link includes the UD institution code which will show you if articles are in the library's collection. While this is a good starting point, using the subject databases listed below will help you do more specific searches and find more relevant articles.
Subject Databases:
Once you have a general understanding of your topic, it is helpful to use subject databases to do more specific searches and find relevant, specialized sources. You can start by browsing this list and selecting subject databases to search. If you want to find databases on other topics, browse the full database list by subject.
Where to Find Sources
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to womens and gender issues. (Coverage: mid-1970s --)
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database for womens studies and feminist research. A valuable resource for many disciplines, including sociology, history, international relations, humanities.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. (Coverage: 1952 --)
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts of published literature on social work, human services and related areas. (Coverage: 1980 --)
- Family and Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations, with abstracts, for a broad range of social science disciplines, including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A free resource providing access to biomedical and life sciences literature. Contains millions of citations and abstracts, but does not include full-text articles. However, links to the full-text are often present from other sources, such UD subscribed titles, publisher websites, or PubMed Central. To access articles from UD subscribed titles you must be a UD student or staff member.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information. Print and electronic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration and legislation. Business topics are covered, with emphasis on economic factors, industry surveys, business-societal interactions and similar issues, rather than details of business operations. (Coverage: 1915 --)
- Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database for criminal justice and criminology research. Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering all related subjects, including forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law, and investigation. (Coverage 1968 --)
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text information from news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Though not required, you have the option to create a personal account that will give you access to special features such as alerts, saved searches, folders, history, annotations and more.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to many millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Artstor images incorporated into JSTOR as of 8/1/2024.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Compilation of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature databases. An extensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. (Coverage: late 19th c. --)
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that can be searched individually or in various combinations. WoS indexs the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, and workshops across the globe.
- Health Affairs (Journal)Explore the topics and briefs for information about health policy
- Docuseek Complete Collection (Docuseek platform) This link opens in a new windowUse the browse feature and select "view complete subject list" to locate a collection of films on the topic of reproductive rights.
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of tens of thousands of videos spanning a wide range of subject areas such as anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, and music. More
- Swank Digital Campus Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
A collection of 1000+ classic and current feature films. Instructors may request content not currently made available to the UD community. Please note: Films provided by Swank are not viewable with the Safari browser.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest and markets.
Basic Search Tips
- Place quotation marks around keyword phrases
"reproductive justice"
"pro choice"
- Capitalize Boolean logic connectors (AND, OR).
IVR OR "in vitro fertilization" OR "fertility treatment"
contraception OR "birth control"
- Items at UD appear first in the list of search results. Other items can be requested via interlibrary loan.