The following links provide general information regarding copyright and intellectual property, as well as information specific to media.
If you are seeking information about the Library's Film & Video Collection, please visit the F&V Collection webpage and / or the Film Studies LibGuide. The Media LibGuide is intended to serve as a guide to media content available via the Web, and does not include information about video content available in hard copy format to Library users on Blu-ray, DVD, VHS, film, etc.
Most of the pages linked on the pages which can be found via the tabs above are freely available via the Internet, and do not require a University of Delaware login for access.
Below are links to subscription media databases which require UD user authentication. When using these links, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. If you encounter problems accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books, please visit the How to Connect to the University of Delaware Library page.
Alexander Street Press (ASP) databases allow users to create playlists of videos within the database, or clips from videos, which can be shared with others. Users can create playlists containing various types of documents, images, whole videos, tracks, segments (clips) and/or other items such as links to any URL. Playlists can be annotated, edited, copied, shared, and all playlists contain their own unique static URL which can be incorporated into course management systems, such as Sakai. Playlists can be used as lists of personal favorites, class viewing/listening assignments, or as a teaching resource for in-class use. Additionally, ASP also includes a static URL for each video in the databases.
If you are an instructor who is interested in incorporating streaming media into your distance education courses, please explore the documentaries and programs available within the databases found on this page. These databases provide features that are helpful in distance education settings, such as the ability to share videos via Course Management Systems, create custom playlists, and utilize clip-making tools. You may also find many videos freely available using the subject area tabs above.
You may also be interested in the following resources: