This is the "Home" page of the "Media" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Media   Tags: audio, av, moving image, streaming, visual  

Last Updated: Aug 30, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.udel.edu/media Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Guides Related to Media

 

Media Resources

Multimedia Screens

 

If you are seeking information about the Library's Film and Video Collection, please visit the Film and Video Collection Department webpage and / or the Film Studies LibGuide.  The Media LibGuide is intended to serve as a guide to media content available via the Web, and does not include information about video content available in hard copy format to Library users on DVD, VHS, film, etc. 

Most of the pages linked from this Media LibGuide are freely available via the Internet, and do not require a University of Delaware login for access.

Immediately below are links to subscription media databases which require UD user authentication.  When using these links, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. If you encounter problems accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books, use the UD proxy login page.

Media Databases

Alexander Street Press (ASP) databases allow users to create playlists of videos within the database, or clips from videos, which can be shared with others. Users can create playlists containing various types of documents, images, whole videos, tracks, segments (clips) and/or other items such as links to any URL. Playlists can be annotated, edited, copied, shared, and all playlists contain their own unique static URL which can be incorporated into course management systems, such as Sakai. Playlists can be used as lists of personal favorites, class viewing/listening assignments, or as a teaching resource for in-class use. Additionally, ASP also includes a static URL for each video in the databases.

  • American History in Video
    A collection of videos available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
  • Theatre in Video
    Includes definitive performances of the world’s leading plays, together with film documentaries, online in streaming video. This release brings together 90 titles, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors, including 30 of the legendary BBC Shakespeare productions of plays by the world’s most renowned playwright. Also included in this release are live performances, as well as film documentaries, covering the pre-eminent names in theatre.
  • VAST: Academic Video Online
    VAST: Academic Video Online brings together over 13,000 streaming video titles in a wide range of disciplines. By 2013, VAST expects to have over 20,000 films available for viewing. The database includes thousands of award-winning films from dozens of producers and distributors. Disciplines covered in the resource include:

    American History
    Area Studies
    Art and Architecture
    Business and Economics
    Counseling and Therapy
    Dance
    Education
    Ethnic Studies
    Ethonography
    Health
    Humanities
    Law & Criminal Justice
    Opera
    Politics & Current Affairs
    Psychology
    Religion & Philosophy
    Science
    Theatre
    Women & Gender Studies
    World History
    World Language & Literature

Media Librarian

Profile Image
Meghann Matwichuk
Contact Info
Associate Librarian and Coordinator, Film and Video Collection
ph: (302) 831-1475
Send Email
 

Ask a Librarian

Click on the button below to get help from a UD Reference Librarian.

Contact us

  • University of Delaware Library  •  181 South College Avenue   •   Newark, DE 19717   •   USA
    Phone: (302) 831-2965   •   © 2011

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip