This is the "Home" page of the "Cartographic Resources, Maps, and Spatial Data" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Cartographic Resources, Maps, and Spatial Data   Tags: history of mapping, map citation styles, map projections, map scale  

Adapted with permission from Mary Prophet's guide.
Last Updated: Apr 3, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.udel.edu/maps Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Related Guides

Genealogy
by Rebecca Knight - Last Updated Apr 18, 2014
3,853 views this year
Geography
by Cathy Wojewodzki - Last Updated Feb 18, 2014
110 views this year
Geological Sciences
by Cathy Wojewodzki - Last Updated Apr 11, 2014
135 views this year
History
by Carol Rudisell - Last Updated Mar 4, 2014
1,694 views this year
Marine Science and Policy
by Fritz Getze - Last Updated Feb 12, 2014
167 views this year
Sociology
by Erin Daix - Last Updated Feb 10, 2014
392 views this year
U.S. Government Information
by Rebecca Knight - Last Updated Mar 26, 2014
812 views this year
History and Delawareana in Special Collections
by Special Collections - Last Updated Oct 17, 2013
88 views this year
 

From Off Campus

Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. If you encounter problems accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books, use the UD proxy login page.
 

Recommendation for Library Purchase

The Library welcomes suggestions for books, journals, videos and other material. Please use the Recommendation for Purchase form to send your suggestions.

 

Cartographic Resources, Maps, and Spatial Data

Welcome, researchers!  Maps, remote sensing images, and spatial data record the locations of things and support many kinds of research.  This guide provides information on resources for cartographic resources, maps, and spatial data.  Click on the tabs above to explore content available through the University of Delaware Library.

This 1906 Delaware-Maryland-New Jersey Dover Quadrangle, reprinted in 1915, is part of the Historic Map Collection in the University of Delaware Library Special Collections Department.

 

Locating Maps

FDLP logoThe University of Delaware Library has been Congressionally designated as a depository library in the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) since June 30, 1897.  In addition, the Library was a depository for the U.S. Geological Survey Depository Program until it merged with the FDLP.  These programs insure that the American public is informed about the activities of the government by distributing materials published by the federal government to institutions free of charge. In return those institutions promise to house materials and provide the staff necessary for the students, faculty, and general public to use these materials.  Under these programs, the Library received Geological Survey topographical maps in the 15 minute and the 7.5 minute series.  These series divide the country into units sized in 15 and 7.5 minutes of longitude and latitude and show topography and structures.  (A minute is 1/60th of a degree of longitude or latitude.)

In addition to the printed topographic maps of Delaware and surrounding states, the federal government produces nautical charts to support commerce, and an enormous number maps on diverse topics ranging from agricultural climate zones to flood insurance maps, to weather maps.  Many of these are available online through DELCAT, WorldCat Local, and in the Collections Online section of this resource guide.

Located on the Lower Level of the Hugh M. Morris Library, the Maps Collection is the largest federal depository map collection in the State of Delaware.  The Library's Maps Collection includes printed topographic maps for the states of Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania.  The topogaphic quadrangles are cataloged by state and filed in the drawers alphabetically by state and quadrangle name. Maps may be found in DELCAT or WorldCat local.  In addition to the maps in this collection, some historical maps of Delaware are included in the Library's Special Collections.

In addition to printed maps in the Library, DELCAT and WorldCat Local also contain records which allow access to a growing number of electronic maps.  For assistance locating maps, please ask at the Student Multimedia Design Center.

Subject Librarian for Maps

Profile Image
John A. Stevenson
Contact Info
Associate Librarian
(302) 831-8671
Send Email
 

Ask a Librarian

  • University of Delaware Library  •  181 South College Avenue   •   Newark, DE 19717   •   USA
    Phone: (302) 831-2965   •   © 2014

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip